UNO State of Cameroon: Government official clears the air on ceded Nigerian communities

Posted by News Express | 8 June 2020 | 3,577 times

Gmail icon

•Governor Zulum of Borno State
More light has been shed on the 24 Nigerian communities reportedly penciled down to form part of the proposed United Nations Organisation (UNO) State of Cameroon.

A top official of the Borno State Government, some of whose councils are reportedly part of the proposed new country, told News Express that the ceding of the affected areas is not a new development.

He described them as "small villages", saying: "Those small villages in Borno have already been ceded to Cameroon following the judgment of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) many years ago."

Continuing, the official, who asked not to be named as he is not authorised to speak on the issue, said: "But Nigeria got more villages from Cameroon in line with the same judgment."

A recent report by the authoritative Nigerian newspaper, The Guardian, had listed the following as Nigerian councils to form part of the proposed UNO: Bama, Gwoza, Ngala, Kala/Balge, Dikwa, Madagali, Michika, Mubi North, Mubi South, Mayo/Belwa, Toungo, Ganye, Serti, Hong, Jada, Maiha and Jada.

The report, which was reproduced by News Express, said that "the new state will have a total landmass of 28, 214 square km with an estimated population of 20 million people."

It added: "In Nigeria, the new country’s landmass extends from Bakassi Peninsula in Cross River State to Ngala Local Government Area of Borno State in the Lake Chad region."

On the five local government areas from Borno State reportedly slated for ceding, the report quoted an aide to Governor Babagana Zulum as saying: “We’ll study the recent unfolding developments on ceding Bama, Gwoza, Dikwa, Kala/Balge and Ngala councils to the UNO State of Cameroon."

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...