Nominations open for Africa’s leading banking awards

Posted by News Express | 27 February 2015 | 3,694 times

Gmail icon

Nominations have opened for the 9th edition of the African Banker Awards, regarded by some as the most prestigious event in Africa’s banking and finance sector. The award ceremony will take place during the annual African Development Bank meetings in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, on May 27, 2015.  

Held under the patronage of the African Development Bank, this year’s awards will celebrate and highlight the bankers and financial institutions who are playing a leading role in driving African growth and transformation, the organisers have said. “This year also happens to be an important year for the African Development Bank who will announce the successor to Donald Kaberuka, its president for the past ten years,” a statement by African Media Agency (AMA) on behalf of the organisers, African Banker magazine in cooperation with BusinessinAfrica Events.

The call for entries for 2015, officially inviting all financial institutions operating in Africa to participate and compete, indicates that March 16 has been set as the deadline for entries.

The African Banker Awards is the landmark event on the banking calendar. Last year’s ceremony took place in Kigali, Rwanda, and attracted some of Africa’s key decision makers including Central Bank Governors and Ministers of Finance as well as those playing a key role in the banking world, from bank CEOs to financiers and deal makers transforming the continent.

“Since we launched the awards, the sector has seen phenomenal growth and is doing things unimaginable a decade ago. The banks have a responsibility to drive Africa’s transformation, policy makers have a role to play in guiding banks and financial institutions to unlock capital towards priority projects and industries. Today more than ever, the financial services industry, which is still small compared to emerging markets standards, will keep rising to the challenge, as they have over the past ten years. We are looking forward to receiving and reading the entries, which make for insightful reading, especially in terms of how banks are helping drive African growth,” Omar Ben Yedder, CEO, IC Publications, publishers of African Banker magazine, said.

Past awards and nominations reflect the diverse achievements of Africa’s top ranking bankers and industry leaders. Last year HE Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda, topped headlines after receiving a Special Recognition Award for his leadership and vision.

Last year women were the big winners: Linah Mohohlo winning Central Bank Governor of the Year, Elizabeth Mary Oleko, chairperson of the Kenya Women Finance Trust winning Lifetime Achievement award and Vivienne Yeda, Director General of the East African Development Bank scooping the award for African Banker of the Year.

The winners are selected by an independent expert judging panel with extensive expertise across the African regions.

The African Banker Awards are designed to recognise the reforms, rapid modernisation and expansion of Africa’s banking and financial system. This year’s platinum sponsor is MasterCard and the awards are under the patronage of the African Development Bank.

To find out more visit:

Photo shows some of the award plaques.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...