Last 3 standing: Enyeama, 2 others battle for African Footballer of the Year Award

Posted by News Express | 26 December 2014 | 4,024 times

Gmail icon

Super Eagles Captain, Vincent Enyeama, is one of three men standing in the short-list for the 2014 CAF African Player of the Year Award.

A Confederation of African Football (CAF) statement issued yesterday on its official website showed that the Nigerian safe hands and Gabonese midfielder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang are the only two remaining players seeking to dethrone the incumbent awardee, Ivorian midfieder Yaya Toure, who completes the short-list.

The trio made the cut following votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF. Ghana’s Asamoah Gyan and Ahmed Musa of Nigeria failed to make the final list.

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), Algerian duo, Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri are in contention with DR Congo forward Firmin Mubele Ndombe.

The winners will be unveiled at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala on Thursday, January 8, 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria. Below are the top three for the various categories:

African Player of the Year (in alphabetical order)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria and Lille)

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif)

El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif)

Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year

Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and Amazon Grimstad)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Rivers Angels)

Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and Guingamp)

Youth Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Rivers Angels)

Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona)

Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and Rivers Angels)

Most Promising Talent

Clinton N’jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year: Florent Ibenge (DR Congo), Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif), Vahid Halilhodžić (Former coach of Algeria)

National Team of the Year: Algeria, Libya, Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year: Cameroon, Nigeria, Nigeria U-20

Club of the Year: Al Ahly (Egypt), AS Vita (DR Congo), ES Setif (Algeria)

Football Leader of the Year

Moise Katumbi Chapwe – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award

Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964

Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964

•Photo shows Enyeama.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...