GOCOP President, others returned unopposed •Kukah arrives Lagos for Guild’s Third Annual Conference

Posted by News Express | 4 October 2019 | 312 times

Gmail icon

Re-elected GOCOP EXCO

Mr. Dotun Oladipo, Publisher of The Eagle Online has been re-elected as the President, Guild of Corporate Online Publishers (GOCOP).

He was returned unopposed at the Guild’s annual general meeting on Thursday, in Lagos, through affirmation alongside other members of the executive committee elected in 2017.

Sequel to a unanimous view that the Oladipo-led executive committee performed creditably well, Horatius Egua, Publisher of The BridgeNews, moved a motion to return the EXCO members unopposed and was seconded by Yinka Aderibigbe, Publisher of Sunrise.ng.

Other officers re-elected are Maureen Chigbo, Publisher of Real News Magazine (Deputy President); Danlami Nmodu, Publisher of Newsdiaryonline (General Secretary); Collins Edomoruse, Publisher of Metrowatch Online (Deputy General Secretary); Olumide Iyanda, Publisher of QED (Publicity Secretary); Segun Adeleye, Publisher of World Stage Online (Financial Secretary) and Janet Mba Afolabi, Publisher of Scroll Magazine as Treasurer.

The election of the new executive committee for another two-year term (2019 - 2021) was superintended by Ken Ugbechie, Publisher of Political Economist, and assisted by Akeem Oyetunji, Publisher of Prompt News Online.

The new executive will be sworn in today, Friday, October 4, during the Third Annual Conference of GOCOP, holding at Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos.

Bishop of Sokoto Catholic Diocese, Most Rev Dr. Matthew Kukah, has already arrived in Lagos for the event. His arrival was confirmed in a statement released on Thursday evening by GOCOP Publicity Secretary, Olumide Iyanda.

The theme of the conference is “Economy, Security and National Development: The Way Forward”.

Rev Kukah, according to Mr Iyanda, will deliver the keynote speech at the conference.

Chief Guest of Honour, Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State, has confirmed his attendance.

Former Director-General of the West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management (WAIFEM), Professor Akpan Ekpo, and a former Director with the Department of State Services (DSS), Mr. Mike Ejiofor, shall be the discussants.

Chairman of the occasion is Managing Director of The News Group, Mr Bayo Onanuga.

Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, will represent the Presidency.

“All guests are expected to be seated by 9:30am,” Iyanda said in the statement.



Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...