INEC extends voter registration in Lagos, Ogun, four others

Posted by News Express | 17 November 2014 | 2,838 times

Gmail icon

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has granted a two-day extension of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) in all states under the third phase of the exercise except Adamawa.

The Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Kayode Robert Idowu, said the CVR that started on Wednesday, November 12, and was scheduled to end today, would now end on Wednesday.

The affected states, he said, are Kano, Edo, Plateau, Ogun, Imo and Lagos.

The Chairman of INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, approved the extension to make up for initial challenges in the exercise and to enable as many eligible persons as possible to get registered.

Idowu added that the “commission strongly admonishes against persons using the CVR to engage in multiple registration, which is a criminal offence and culprits liable to prosecution”.

•Source: LEADERSHIP. Photo shows INEC Chairman, Attahiru Jega.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...