APC must take over Anambra State in 2021 — Osibanjo

Posted by Pamela Eboh, Awka | 27 July 2019 | 1,139 times

Gmail icon

•Vice President Osibanjo

Vice-President (VP) Prof. Yemi Osibanjo has called on members of the All Progressive Congress (APC) to gear up for the next governorship election in Anambra State slated for 2021, saying that it is time for the party to take over the state

Addressing party faithful during an interactive round table meeting on Friday at the Dora Akunyili Center in Awka, the VP said that he cane to open a new chapter and a new beginning for the party in the state.

Osibanjo insisted that the party must have a Governor in the state come 2021.

He said: “It is not going to be easy without being together and ensuring hard work. There is need for APC to move on. Anambra APC must move on. Party leadership must be united, if we don’t work together, nothing will work and we must equally show commitment.

“No spirit can come and win elections for us in this state; it is time for us to take over Anambra state in 2021.”

In his speech, the Acting State Party Chairman, Chief Basil Ejidike, noted that party members in the state were hungry and abandoned.

He called on the Federal Government to intervene in the recent appointment of an All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) member, Anayo Nnebe, by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, as one of his Aides for the Southeast.

While noting that the party lacked funds to execute its projects in the state, Ejidike appealed to the Federal Government to bring the party leaders in the state together.

Party stakeholders, including Chief Forte Dike and Hon Tony Nwoye, among others, in their separate speeches regretted that benefits from the federal government to Anambra members were not getting to genuine APC members, but strange members from APGA.

The meeting was graced by notable members of the party in the state.

They include Former Minister of Labour and Employment, Sen Chris Ngige, Hon Dr Tony Nwoye, Director, Budget, Pastor Ben Akabueze, and the National Auditor of APC, Chief George Moghalu, among others.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...