NewsExpress banner First Bank Fashion Souk Fidelity bank card banner Umm Sulaim's Thoughts Camano banner

NASS Minority row: PDP caucus pitches tent with Gbajabiamila, asks party to rescind suspension of Elumelu, others

By Mayowa Okekale, Abuja on 09/07/2019

Gmail icon

Views: 647

•Hon. Ndudi Elumelu
•Hon. Ndudi Elumelu

The PDP caucus of the Federal House of Representatives has passed votes of confidence on the leadership of the House of Representatives under the leadership of Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila.

The minority members caucus, at the National Assembly complex on Monday held a press briefing on the issue of minority leadership of the House of Representatives.

Speaking for the PDP caucus, Hon. Legor Idiagbo, in reference to House Rule Order 7 rule 8, stated that “members of the minority parties in the house shall nominate from among them, the minority leader, minority whip, deputy minority leader and deputy minority whip”.

Legor added that the members of the minority parties adhered to the provision in the selection of Hon. Ndudi Elumelu as Minorit Leader; Hon. Tobi Okechukwu as deputy minority leader; Hon. Gideon Gwani as Minority Whip and Hon. Adesegun Adekoya as Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

He added that speaker Gbajabiamila was duly communicated the resolution by majority members of the minority caucus on the 2nd, July and was communicated on the floor of the house on July 3, 2019.

The PDP caucus however called on the National Working Committee of the opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to rescind its decision on the suspended minority leader, Hon. Ndidi Elumelu and six others.

The minority party however passed a vote of confidence on the newly constituted minority leadership.

According to him, “The members’ decision to constitute the minority leadership of the 9th House of Representatives is in consonance with House standing order as mentioned above, which is a derivative of section 60 of the 1999 Constitution as amended.”

Recall that the NWC of the PDP had earlier suspended Elumelu and six others and were given a month-long for their roles in what the party described as insubordination.

The six others are Hon. Wole Oke, Hon. Lynda Ikpeazu, Hon. Anayo Edwin, Hon. Gideon Gwadi, Hon. Toby Okechukwu and Hon. Adekoya Abdul-Majid.

The party had rejected the announcement of Elumelu as Minority Leader, saying the Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila shunned its choice of Kingsley Chinda.


Source News Express

Posted 09/07/2019 05:21:41 AM





You may also like...
CBN licenses three new banks

20 soldiers arrested in Burkina over jail break...

Ondo Governorship Election: New panel begins sitting; to...

2019 election is about the survival of Nigeria...

UNIOSUN top officials quizzed over contract padding, other...

Battle of Cuiaba (Brazil): Keshi unleashes Osaze, Emenike...

NBA demands due process on Onnoghen’s removal, backs...

PDP convention: Reconciliation in South-West successful, says Dickson...

We are under siege, Jonathan’s kinsmen cry out...

Don't dump PDP: Party leaders beg Mimiko

Breaking: NUJ gets new President

NIMET predicts hazy weather for North today, sunny...


Latest News BREAKING: Explosion rocks Ebonyi school DSS bows to court; releases Sowore, Bakare ISWAP terrorists abduct 14, including two Red Cross workers Two Nigerian varsity students deported to Bosnia Don’t handcuff me in public, Orji Kalu begs prison warders Rape victim set on fire on way to court hearing How police officer murdered my son: Ex-Senator Titi Ajanaku’s death shocking - Obasanjo 2,000 repentant bandits surrender weapons to Zamfara Govt Eight dead, including children, in gas explosion Pirates kidnap 19 crew members from Greek tanker off Nigeria Kano Assembly defies court, passes new Emirates Bill


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (568,927 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (455,239 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (405,031 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (339,754 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (306,575 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (290,154 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (260,617 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (259,394 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (240,843 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (227,348 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (203,248 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (199,744 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (111) Business & Economy (4,610) Business Verdict (89) Columnists (1,154) Complaints & Requests (97) Enterprise & Opportunities (219) Entertainment (715) Features (851) Global Business Monitor (497) ICT Monitor (71) International (4,299) Interview (216) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (177) Maggie's Blog (505) News (54,862) Opinion (1,434) Pidgin (18) Politics (11,845) Religion (1,129) Sports (2,243) Stock Watch (40) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera