Senators choose a new President as 9th National Assembly is Inaugurated in Abuja

Posted by News Express | 11 June 2019 | 1,501 times

Gmail icon

•National Assembly Complex, Abuja

The inauguration of the ninth National Assembly has commenced in Abuja, the Nigerian capital.

The session presided over by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, started with the taking of the roll call of all the Senators-elect.

The two contestants for the office of Senate President, Senators Ahmed Lawan and Ali Ndume, both scaled the first hurdle of nomination and consequently addressed their colleagues on the reasons why they should be elected Senate President.

Lawan spoke first. After Ndume spoke and there were no further nominations, the National Assembly Clerk announced that the voting shall be by open secret ballot.

The process was about to start as at the time of filing this report shortly before 11:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 11, 2019.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...