NLNG Corporate Respect banner First bank FinTech summit Fidelity bank card banner Emerald Energy Institute Camano banner

Nigeria: South-East APC repositions for 2023 Presidency

By Dennis Agbo on 07/06/2019

Gmail icon

Views: 295

The All Progressives Congress, APC, in the South-East has commenced moves aimed at projecting strong ties that would make the zone viable for concession of the Nigerian Presidency to the Igbo, in 2023.

The Party which did not do quite well in the zone in the last General Elections said it is now even more prepared to harmonise views and build bridges of unity that would sell the zone to the rest of Nigeria.

Inaugurating its zonal reconciliation, Peace, Strengthening and Repositioning Committee in Enugu, on Wednesday, Chairman of the Committee and former Minister for Labour, Dr. Emeka Wogu said that the people of the zone have to put the past behind them, amend ways so to have a shot at the Nigerian Presidency in the next election.

Wogu said: “The APC South-East zone gave us the mandate to reconcile and make peace with a view of strengthening and repositioning the party in the whole of South-East, taking into consideration that certain members of our party felt so dissatisfied with the process of congresses, primaries and the main elections, they felt aggrieved and that is the reason why this committee was set-up.

“We have agreed that every state should come with its peculiarities or what led to the disorganisation and lack of peace in their states and at the end of the day we will distill issues and visit all the states.

We will also visit our leaders in the states and speak truth to them and find a way of repositioning the party in the South-East to face the evolving realities of political dialectics of our party and of our country so that by 2023 we will be in a position to win the elections that we couldn’t win because of internal wrangling, which led to certain sabotages against our party.

“So in 2023 we will do well and then we will look at all positions available in this country, not limited to only National Assembly and Governorship, but including the big one. We need to go for it, negotiate for it and become relevant.”

Other members of the 13 member committee include Brigadier General JOJ Okoloagu (Enugu); Prince Lemmy Akakeem (Imo); Chief Ugo Chima (Ebonyi); Chief Friday Nwosu (Abia); Hon. Christopher Omo-Isu (Ebonyi); Mrs. Blessing Onuawa (Imo); Chief Azuka Okwuosa (Anambra), among others.

The committee congratulated President Mohammadu Buhari and his Vice, Yemi Osibanjo for their reelection and successful administration of oath of office and pleaded more support of the south east for the federal government.

Wogu said that the APC must be united and strong in the zone to support the federal government achievements in governance.

“We are resolute in supporting President Buhari and assisting him to achieve his positive desires by ensuring that South-East APC is peaceful to take over the whole political positions in the zone,” Wogu said. (Vanguard)



Source News Express

Posted 07/06/2019 05:26:18 AM





You may also like...
Stop giving bailout funds to state governments, FG...

Reggae star Ras Kimono dismisses APC

Why Atiku travelled to the USA — Obi...

Ahmed calls for restructuring of LG nationwide

Military escorts residents back to Gamboru after Boko...

Court remands 6 Islamic teachers in prison

Q2 Report: FG regrets ‘slight drop’ in GDP...

Alex Otti rejoins Abia governorship battle •Appeal Court...

Bandits attack Kebbi community, kidnap 3

CAN condemns Kano mosque attack, declares it the...

Children indulge in sex work to feed in...

Youth converge in Ibadan to discuss strategies to...


Latest News HAPPENING NOW: Hope dims for Achumba as lawmakers confirm Edward Onoja as Kogi’s new Deputy Governor BREAKING: Abducted Police Commander rescued, suspects in the net Kidnapped ex-Police chief found dead Over 500,000 spaces in 2018 admissions not utilised — JAMB 3 U.S. soldiers killed in training accident Kaduna Govt shortlists 5,351 applicants for employment 5 feared dead in ghastly accident, Abia LG TC chairman, others hospitalised Buhari to meet Putin in Russia ASUU begins members’ mobilisation for showdown with FG NPA shuts Secure Anchorage Area contract over threat to national security •Writes to Nigerian Navy We’ll actualise Biafra in honour of Nnamdi Kanu’s mother — IPOB Police arrests 6 cultists terrorising Alapere in Lagos


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (552,268 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (447,909 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (395,595 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (331,124 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (299,480 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (266,229 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (256,362 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (253,743 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (235,269 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (221,415 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (198,854 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (196,006 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (105) Business & Economy (4,505) Business Verdict (85) Columnists (1,131) Complaints & Requests (97) Enterprise & Opportunities (218) Entertainment (693) Features (836) Global Business Monitor (469) ICT Monitor (66) International (4,100) Interview (205) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (174) Maggie's Blog (452) News (52,893) Opinion (1,400) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,591) Religion (1,112) Sports (2,198) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera