Breaking: Arase, Mbu steal show as police decorate newly promoted AIGs and DIGs

Posted by News Express | 22 August 2014 | 4,670 times

Gmail icon

The mood at the Louis Edet House, Abuja, Headquarters of the Nigeria Police, is upbeat as the Force decorates 27 senior officers promoted this week, comprising eight new Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIGs) and 19 Assistant Inspectors-General of Police (AIGs).

The event is on-going, with Solomon E. Arase and erstwhile Federal Capital Territory (FCT) police chief Mbu Joseph Mbu stealing the show, as they reaped applause upon being called for decoration. The event is being emceed by the new Force PRO Emmanuel Ojukwu.

The new DIGs appointed last Tuesday by the Police Service Commission (PSC) are Solomon E. Arase (Edo State, South-South); Kawe Christopher Katso (Taraba, North-West); Dan’azumi Jos Doma (Niger State, North-Central); Mamman Ibrahim Tsafe (Zamfara State, North-West); Saliu Argungu Hashimu (Kebbi State, North-West); David O. Omojola (Ekiti State, South-West); Hilary Opara (Imo State); and Sotonye L. Wakama.

The new AIGs appointed by the PSC are Mbu Joseph Mbu; Umaru Abubakar Manko; Ambrose O. Aisibor; Adebayo Ajileye; Joel Kayode Theophilus; Wilfred Eje Obute; Felix Osita Uyanna; A. J. Abakasanga; Jubril Olawale Adeniji; Ibrahim M. Maishanu; Godfrey E. Okeke; Chintua Amajor-Onu; Lawal Tanko; Usman Akila Gwarry; Kalafite Helen Adeyemi; Yahaya Garba Ardo; Irimiya F. Yerima; Olufemi A. Adenaike; and Patrick Dey Dokumor.

As explained by PSC Spokesman Ferdinand Ekpe, “the promotions became necessary to fill the vacancies created by recent retirements/promotions in Force and to re-invigorate and reposition Zonal and other Commands headed by AIGS, to help tackle the country’s current security challenges.”

•Photo shows Acting IGP, Suleiman Abba.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...