Guber Polls: APC leads in Ogun, Lagos, Kaduna, Kwara, Bauchi, Kebbi, Sokoto

Posted by News Express | 10 March 2019 | 8,216 times

Gmail icon

The All Progressives Congress (APC) appears to be heading to victory in the governorship elections in Ogun, Lagos, Kaduna, Kwara, Kebbi, Sokoto and Bauchi States.

Victory is being predicted as results began coming in from the various polling booths.

In Ogun, Dapo Abiodun held steady in the nine local governments east of the state, crushing Abdulkabir Akinlade, the candidate of Governor Ibikunle Amosun, and the PDP candidate, Senator Buruji Kashamu.

From early results declared, Abiodun won handily in Ijebu-Ode and Ijebu North East. Other early results in the zone also favoured him. The APC has already won Ijebu-Ode, the first House of Assembly election result declared.

In the governorship result, Abiodun polled 13,234 votes to defeat Amosun’s candidate, Akinlade who got 4401 votes. Kashamu of PDP came second with 7289 votes.

In Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the APC established a strong lead ahead of his closest rival, Jimi Agbaje of the PDP with the majority of the votes cast in such areas as Ikorodu, Alimoso, Badagry and Lagos Island.

According to The Nation, Sanwo-Olu was the preferred candidate at Vice President Yemi Osinbajo’s polling unit in Victoria Garden City, Lekki.

He got 223 votes as against the 175 votes polled by Agbaje.

In Kwara, Alhaji AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of the APC appeared to have confirmed the uprooting of the PDP in Kwara State with another emphatic win.

AbdulRazaq won his polling unit at Idigba, Adewole ward with 592 votes as against PDP’s 80.

He also got 201 votes at Ode Oba Onilu, Ilorin as against the 52 for PDP.

At press time, there was a wide gap between his votes and what the PDP candidate Razaq Atunwa had garnered.

It was also clear that Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State had won in most of the polling centres where INEC returning officers had announced results.

Bagudu got 572 votes against the 7 received by Sen. Isa Galaudu of PDP at Iyan Gwandu polling unit 012, Marafa ward.

In Nasarawa 2 polling units 002, Bagudu got 526 votes and Galaudi 98.

At polling unit 008 at GRA Kindi Zauro, Nasarawa ward in Birnin Kebbi, Bagudu scored 354 while Galaudi, scored 87.

In Garkar Mai-Alelu polling unit 006, where the governor cast his vote, the APC received 745 votes against 23 garnered by the PDP.

The trend was similar in Sokoto and Bauchi State.

Official results from polling stations in Adamawa, Enugu, Delta, Ebonyi and Akwa Ibom gave it to the PDP candidates.

The PDP won the governorship election in former Vice President Atiku Abubakar’s polling Unit 012 of Ajiya Ward of Adamawa North Local Government Area.

Announcing the results at the unit, the presiding officer declared that the APC polled 99 votes while the PDP scored 161 votes. The ADC candidate scored 51 votes while the SDP candidate got only one vote.

Similarly, the PDP trounced the ruling APC with a 50 votes margin at the polling unit in front of Adamawa State deputy governor’s office

According to the announced results, APC scored 63 votes, while PDP got 113 votes. The ADC got 78 votes.(NAN)


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...