NewsExpress banner Firstbank Verve banner Fidelity bank card banner Umm Sulaim's Thoughts Camano banner

Police gets 19 new AIGs •Mbu, Manko top list

By News Express on 20/08/2014

Gmail icon

Views: 3,519

For the second day running, the Police Service Commission (PSC) today announced the promotion of deserving officers, with 19 Commissioners of Police (CPs) being moved to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police (AIGs).

The cheering news came less than 24 hours after the promotion of six AIGs and two CPs to the rank of Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIG).

In a statement issued earlier today in Abuja, PSC Assistant Director, Press and Public Relations, Ferdinand U. Ekpe, named Federal Capital Territory (FCT) police chief Mbu Joseph Mbu and his Lagos counterpart Umaru Abubakar Manko among the new AIGs. The rest,according to him, are Ambrose O. Aisibor, Adebayo Ajileye, Joel Kayode Theophilus, Wilfred Eje Obute, Felix Osita Uyanna, A. J. Abakasanga, Jubril Olawale Adeniji, Ibrahim M. Maishanu, Godfrey E. Okeke, Chintua Amajor-Onu, Lawal Tanko, Usman Akila Gwarry, Kalafite Helen Adeyemi, Yahaya Garba Ardo, Irimiya F. Yerima, Olufemi A. Adenaike and Patrick Dey Dokumor.

“The promotions became necessary to fill the vacancies created by recent retirements/promotions in Force and to re-invigorate and reposition Zonal and other Commands headed by AIGS, to help tackle the country’s current security challenges,” Ekpe said, explaining that all the appointments are with immediate effect.

He said that PSC Chairman, Sir Mike Mbama Okiro, urged the newly promoted officers to justify the confidence reposed in them.

Photo shows one of the new AIGs, Mbu Joseph Mbu.

Source News Express

Posted 20/08/2014 9:41:20 PM





You may also like...
UK expresses shock over Ita-Faaji, Lagos Island building...

15 things INEC and the security agencies must...

How I survived soldiers’ attack, killing of policemen,...

Enyeama loses out in BBC African Footballer of...

Weeds, reptiles take over Vice President’s mansion after...

Top Army Generals, others on trial over failed...

Why DSS rearrested Sowore - Presidency

Ramadan: Saraki seeks prayers for peace, security

Rampaging herdsmen sack 200 families in Cross River...

Biafra: MASSOB disagrees with council of elders over...

Northern CAN disowns opponent of Christian courts, declares...

Association laments dominance of foreigners in stevedoring services...


Latest News Anti-Buhari Editorial: IPOB hails PUNCH; challenges Channels, Tribune, The Nation and Sahara Reporters VISA-free entry to Nigeria a reckless threat to our sovereignty — HURIWA Dilemma in Bayelsa over birth of Siamese twins Ugwuanyi reiterates commitment to scientific innovation Gunmen kill OAU professor Ogboni Fraternity opens up on activities Uproar over CJN’s call for full Sharia in Nigeria Bank mistakenly deposits $37m into woman’s account EFCC marks Orji Kalu’s properties Protesters dispute Imo Speaker’s NYSC certificate Reps threaten to blacklist Julius Berger over slow pace of work on road projects Community without electricity for one year cries out


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (572,569 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (456,930 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (406,931 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (341,725 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (308,148 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (292,709 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (261,503 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (260,726 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (242,142 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (228,596 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (204,258 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (200,581 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (112) Business & Economy (4,623) Business Verdict (89) Columnists (1,158) Complaints & Requests (98) Enterprise & Opportunities (221) Entertainment (718) Features (855) Global Business Monitor (499) ICT Monitor (73) International (4,325) Interview (220) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (178) Maggie's Blog (520) News (55,264) Opinion (1,440) Pidgin (18) Politics (11,892) Religion (1,133) Sports (2,255) Stock Watch (41) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera