17 governors, ex-govs head for Senate

Posted by Felix Nwaneri, Wale Elegbede and Temitope Ogunbanke | 28 February 2019 | 1,792 times

Gmail icon

•Nigerian Senate Chamber

An unprecedented 17 outgoing and former governors have won senatorial seats in the ongoing general elections. They are among the 23, who contested last weekend’s National Assembly elections. The outgoing governors, who will seamlessly transit to the Senate, are six in number.

 They are Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Abdulazeez Yari (Zamfara), Tanko Al Makura (Nasarawa).

 Eleven former governors, who won the senatorial contests are,  Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia), Sam Egwu (Ebonyi), Theodore Orji (Abia), Chimaraoke Nnamani (Enugu), Danjuma Goje (Gombe) and Adamu Aliero (Kebbi) Others are Kabiru Gaya (Kano), Ibrahim Shekarau (Kano), Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa), Gabriel Suswam (Benue) and Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto). Equally heading for the Senate are three serving and former deputy governors.

 A former deputy governor of Abia State, Enyinnaya Ababribe, who won election for a fourth term would be joined the deputy governor of Jigawa State, Ibrahim Hadejia and ex-deputy governors of Akwa Ibom State, Chris Ekpenyong.

However, it was sour tale for two serving governors – Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo) and Ibrahim Dankwambo (Gombe). The duo had their bids dashed, following their defeat in the elections. Three former governors, incumbent Senators Bukola Saraki (Kwara) and Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom) lost their re-election bids, while ex-Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta) also lost his senatorial bid.

The former deputy governors – Senator Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti) and Steve Lawani (Benue), and the incumbent deputy of Kaduna State, Barnabas Bantex, were defeated in the senatorial election.

Excerpted from a New Telegraph report

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...