Ekweremadu, Melaye, Amosun, Oduah storm back to Senate •Dankwambo, Saraki, Akpabio, Olujimi hit brickwall

Posted by News Express | 25 February 2019 | 9,586 times

Gmail icon

•National Assembly Complex

Ike Ekweremadu, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Candidate and Deputy Senate President, has been declared winner of Enugu West Senatorial District for the fifth time in Saturday Presidential/National Assembly elections.

Ekweremadu polled 86,088 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mrs Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 15,187 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof Douglas Nwagbo of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) announced the results in Awgu on Sunday.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that with the victory, Ekweremadu holds the senatorial mandate for the 5th time.

Reacting to the development, the deputy senate president said he was humbled by the result because it was the first time a senator would be voted the fifth time in Nigeria.

He applauded the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for smooth and peaceful conduct of the elections.

Senator Dino Melaye of PDP has also been declared winner of the Kogi West Senatorial election held on Feb. 23.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Emmanuel Bala, announced in the early hours of Monday in Lokoja that Melaye polled 85,395 votes to defeat Sen. Smart Adeyemi of the APC, who scored 66,901 votes.

In Ogun State, Gov. Ibikunle Amosun has been declared the winner of the Ogun Central Senatorial District election.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Ayinde Akanbi, declared on Monday that Amosun polled 88,110 votes to defeat Mrs Tunji Oseni-Gomez of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), who had 37,101 votes.

Akanbi announced the result at the collation centre, Centenary Hall, Ake Abeokuta.

He said that Mr Solomon Sanyaolu of the PDP polled 33,276 votes while Mr Gbenga Adenmosun of the Allied People’s Movement had 10,039 votes.

Solomon Olufemi of the ADP polled 6,510 votes, according to the returning officer.

In Anambra, INEC has declared former Minister of Aviation, Sen. Stella Oduah, winner of the Anambra North Senatorial District.

Declaring the result on Monday in Onitsha, the Returning Officer, Prof. Hugh Maduka, said Oduah, of PDP, polled 113,989 votes to defeat 20 other candidates.

He said Mr Emmanuel Chinedu of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) came second with 59,937 votes while Mr Nelson Onubogu of the APC emerged third with 11,995 votes.

The Returning Officer said Mr Chinedu Ekwealor of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) came fourth with 1,024 votes.

He noted that the election went fine except in some areas were ballot boxes and votes were burnt by hoodlums.

“The election went fine but there were skirmishes especially the one documented in Oyi Local Government Area where votes were burnt,” he said.

Reacting to her victory, Oduah said her re-election for second tenure was prove of God’s love for her and her people.

The Senator, who promised to sustain her quality representation at the Red Chambers, said “it is a duty to further improve the livelihood of the people of my senatorial district.”

She commended INEC on the conduct of the poll, but called for an improvement in the voting process.

“The process is evolving and I believe that sometimes in the near future, we are going to perfect the electoral process, especially where we can all vote from wherever we are.

“That will be the ultimate for INEC,” Oduah said.

On the other hand, three heavyweights – Gov. Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe State, Senate President Bukola Saraki and former Senate Minority Godswill Akpabio – have hit a brickwall.

Dankwambo, senatorial candidate in Gombe North, has been defeated by Alhaji Sa’idu Alkali of APC. News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Gombe North Senatorial District has five local government areas (LGAs); Nafada, Kwami, Gombe, Dukku, and Funakaye.

Dankwambo was defeated in four out of the five LGAs in the District including his LGAs which is Gombe.

Dr. Umar Gurama, the Returning Officer of Gombe North Senatorial District, announced the results at the INEC office, the collation centre in Mallam Sidi, Kwami LGA.

Gurama declared Alkali winner of the election, having fulfilled the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes in Gombe North Senatorial District.

Alhaji Sa’idu Alkali of APC scored 152,546 votes to defeat Gov. Dankwambo of the PDP, who scored 88,016 votes.

“In Kwami LGA, APC scored 26,964 votes while the PDP scored 14,105 votes.

“In Gombe LGA, APC scored 60,934 votes against PDP’s 31,106.

“In Dukku LGA, APC scored 26,394 votes while the PDP, polled 13,106 votes.

“In Funakaye LGA, APC scored 28,544 votes against 17,204 votes for PDP.”

However, Gov. Dankwambo won in Nafada LGA, scoring 12,335 votes while APC scored 9,710 votes.

NAN also reports that Nafada is the hometown of the PDP governorship candidate, Sen. Usman Nafada of Gombe North Senatorial District. (NAN)

In Kwara State, Saraki has lost his bid for re-election into the Senate from Kwara Central, defeated by Dr. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe of APC. Oloriegbe, a medical doctor like Saraki, polled a total of 123,808 votes to defeat Saraki, who scored 68,994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central Senatorial District.

The result of the election was announced by the Senatorial District Returning Officer, Prof Olatunbosun Owoyomi from the University of Ilorin.

In Asa local government, Oloriegbe polled a total of 15, 932 votes to defeat Saraki that scored 11, 252 votes.

The APC candidate also got 30, 014 votes in Ilorin East local government to 14, 654 polled by his PDP rival in the Senatorial race.

In Ilorin West, stronghold of Sen. Saraki, Oloriegbe polled 51, 531 votes to defeat the senate president with 30, 075 votes.

The situation was the same in Ilorin South where the APC candidate floored the Senate President with 26,331 votes as against 13,031 votes garnered by Saraki.

And in Akwa Ibom State, Akpabio is reported to be at the losing end, thus in danger of failure in his bid to return to the red Chambers.

•Based on NAN reports.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...