Police commission approves 8 new DIGs

Posted by News Express | 30 January 2019 | 1,343 times

Gmail icon

 Eight new Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIGs) have been approved by the Police Service Commission (PSC) with effect from January 28, 2019.

The DIGs are Aminchi Baraya (North-East), Usman Abubakar (North West), Abdulmajid Ali (North Central), Fredrick Taiwo Lakanu (South West), Godwin Nwobodo (South East), Anthony Michael (South-South), and Yakubu Jibrin (North Central). Jibrin, though from Northcentral, was appointed based on seniority.

The eighth DIG, Usman Yakubu, was however asked to proceed on terminal leave.

A statement by the spokesperson of the PSC, Ikechukwu Ani, said: “the approval was the high-point of the 4th Plenary Meeting of the commission held in Abuja on Monday and Tuesday, January 28 and 29, 2019 and presided over by its chairman, Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector- General of Police.”

JHe said the chairman of the commission charged the new management team to give the acting Inspector-General of Police Mohammed Adamu maximum cooperation and support to move the Force forward.

The commission also approved the retirement of seven former DIGs. They are Maigari Dikko (Finance and Administration); Joshak Habila (Operations); Emmanuel Iyang (Information Communication Technology), Sani Mohammed (Training and Development); Agboola Oshodi-Glover (Logistics and Supply); Mohammed Musa Katsina (Research and Planning) and Peace Abdullah.

•Sourced from a Daily Trust report

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...