Jimoh Ibrahim loses job as CAC Chairman

Posted by News Express | 21 December 2012 | 8,735 times

Gmail icon

Lagos businessman, Barrister Jimoh Ibrahim, has lost his job as Chairman of the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC). His tenure started on April 28, 2009 but ended following yesterday’s announcement of the appointment of a new Board from which Ibrahim’s name is conspicuously missing. Chairmen of boards of government parastatals in Nigeria usually hold office for a term of four years in the first instance and may be re-appointed for a further term of four years and no more.

The appointment of a new Board for CAC and three other parastatals – the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety (NIMASA), and Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) – was announced last night in a statement signed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim.

While CAC’s new Chairman is Mr. Funsho Lawal, controversial Edo born-politician, Chief Tony Anenih returns as NPA Chairman, Lt. Col Agbu Kefas (Rtd) is NIMASA’s new Chairman and Hamman Tukur that of TCN.

For Jimoh Ibrahim (see photo), it has been a turbulent tenure which saw CAC workers embarking on an industrial action last May to push for his removal. He later in the year was engulfed in more controversies over alleged unethical practices at Air Nigeria, which he later shut, and over the manner of his take-over of Nigeria’s oldest magazine, Newswatch. There have also been protests by workers and contractors of his NICON Luxury Hotel, Abuja, over the way the place is being managed.

Below is the composition of the new boards as announced by Anyim:

Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC):

i.     Mr. Funsho Lawal                       -  Chairman

ii.    Alh. Sanusi Maijama’a                -  Member (Rep. NACCIMA)

iii.   Mr. Okoro Osita Franklin            -  Member (Rep. NBA)

iv.   Chief Mrs. Elizabeth Omereson   -  Member (Rep. ICAN)

v.    Dr. Ausbeth N. Ajagu, MFR         -  Member (Rep. MAN)

vi.   Edosa Aigbekeen                           -  Member (Rep. SEC)

vii.  N. Salma-Mann                             -  Member (Rep. Min. of Trade  &  Investment)

viii. Prof. Adedeji Adekunle                 -  Member (Rep. Min of Justice)

ix.   Rep. of Fed. Ministry of Finance   -   Member

Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA):

i.     Chief Tony Anenih                         -           Chairman

ii.    Chief Florence Ita Giwa                 -           Member

iii.   Hon. Hamza Dan Mahawi              -           Member

iv.   Sen. Lekan Mustapha                      -           Member

v.    Alhaji Aminu Baba Danagundi       -           Member

vi.   Mr. Austin Enyonnia Cosmos         -           Member

vii.  Rep. of the Ministry of Transport    -           Member

Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety (NIMASA):

i.     Lt. Col Agbu Kefas (Rtd)                 -           Chairman

ii.    Ibrahim Mark                                    -           Member

iii.   Alhaji Hassan Baba                           -           Member

iv.   Alhaji Aliyu Usman                           -           Member

v.    Rep. of Ministry of Transport            -           Member

vi.   Rep. of Ministry of Labour                -           Member

vii.  Rep. of Nigeria Navy                         -           Member

Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN)

i.     Hamman Tukur                                                                    - Chairman

ii.    Akinsola Akinfemiwa                                                          - Vice-Chairman

iii.   Director of Human Resources Mgt, BPE                             - Member

iv.   Rep. of Coordinating Minister for Economy/ Fin. Minister - Member

v.    Director of Power, Federal Ministry of Power                      - Member

vi.   A Commissioner from NERCOM                                         - Member

vii.  Rep. of Manufacturers Association of Nigeria                      - Member

viii. Rep. of the Generation Companies (GENCOS)                    - Member

ix. Rep. of the Distribution Companies (DISCOS)                       - Member

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...