Fidelity bank card banner Emerald Energy Institute Camano banner

Nigeria, nine others spurn African Air Transport Agreement

By News Express on 16/12/2018

Gmail icon

Views: 494


Nigeria, South Africa and Kenya – Africa’s engine rooms – are among the more than 10 countries that failed to sign the implementation of the Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM).

The deal was signed last week in Nairobi.

This is despite earlier indications that they would, exposing reservations countries still have in opening up their airspace.

African Union Commission, the custodian of the Memorandum of Implementation and African Civil Aviation Commission, which is the executing agency of the Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM) had announced that 13 African countries would sign into the implementation of the SAATM.

The signatories were Botswana, Burkina Faso, Chad, Egypt, Gabon, The Gambia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Swaziland and Zimbabwe would have pushed to 27 the countries who would have started implementing the open skies policy.

However, by the end of the meeting, only The Gambia, Botswana and Burkina Faso had kept their word.

In May, 14 African states including Rwanda signed the implementation protocol in Lome, Togo.

“Kenya is also committed towards the full realisation of the African Union’s initiative that will see Africa converging into one air service market.

To this end, Kenya is one of the 25 states that have so far signed up for the SAATM,” Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta said, while opening the International Civil Aviation Organisation’s Air Services Negotiations conference in Nairobi.

However despite President Kenyatta’s optimism, Kenya did not come through on its word to sign up to its implementation, having signed the solemn commitment earlier this year.

Kenya is yet to align its national laws with the treaty and as such it could not sign on to its implementation.

“The ratification has to go through parliament and we are made aware that some countries are yet to do that. That could explain their no-show at the signing ceremony,” The EastAfrican was told.

The concerns of the countries that gave last week’s event a wide berth included terms and conditions that states need to develop between the regional countries on its local implementation.

The SAATM is operational in 14 countries, mostly West Africa with states like Togo already operationalising it through agreements with other countries, where cross-border flights are now treated as domestic flights in the region.

The African Civil Aviation Commission’s secretary general Tefera Mekonnen told The EastAfrican that despite the poor showing at the signing ceremony, he remained optimistic that that the remaining countries would come around and commit to the agreement.

“We know that the delay in their commitment is a result of consultations and also aligning their laws to accommodate this new dawn. I am confident that these countries will commit to the decision in the coming days. So far we are positive on the progress of the signing of the memorandum of implementation of the Yamoussoukro Decision,” Mr Tefera said. (NAN)

Source News Express

Posted 16/12/2018 7:06:21 PM





You may also like...
Bureau De Change operators involved in $2.1bn arms...

Gov Ahmed rejoices with Saraki over new Waziri...

Ekwueme explodes: Why Jonathan won’t get South-East block...

Woman bathes husband with boiling water over second...

MOSOP opposes FG’s plan to build prison and...

APC crisis: Oyegun meets Buhari over Tinubu’s outburst...

Abducted Chibok schoolgirls still alive, says President Jonathan...

Husbands, wives told to expect challenges —and how...

Police rescue 3 abducted officers in Zamfara

5 most wanted criminals renounce crime in Anambra...

Weatherman predicts cloudy Sunday spiced with thunderstorms

My life is in danger for taking Adeleke...


Latest News BREAKING: Tribunal upholds Makinde’s election as Oyo Governor Buhari critic resigns 10 days after accepting appointment in Ministry of Budget Boko Haram attacks University of Maiduguri Militants point new path to Niger Delta development Obasanjo writes South African leader over Xenophobia Gov. Umahi appoints 180 additional aides FG extends border closure indefinitely 10,000 Nigerian girls forced into prostitution in Burkina Faso – Ambassador FUOYE killings: Fayemi directs commissioner of police to commence investigation Xenophobia: FG releases states of returnees Resident doctors demand improved healthcare infrastructure in southeast Falling container kills 2, injures others in Lagos


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (540,363 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (442,869 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (389,177 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (326,594 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (294,569 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (253,604 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (249,681 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (238,273 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (231,425 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (217,415 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (195,797 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (193,409 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (102) Business & Economy (4,443) Business Verdict (80) Columnists (1,109) Complaints & Requests (96) Enterprise & Opportunities (215) Entertainment (664) Features (811) Global Business Monitor (442) ICT Monitor (63) International (3,953) Interview (203) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (170) Maggie's Blog (410) News (51,360) Opinion (1,358) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,446) Religion (1,102) Sports (2,166) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera