Fidelity bank card banner Camano banner

UEFA nominates 50 players for team of year

By Fatih Erel on 11/12/2018

Views: 573

Voting for 50 footballers for 'Team of the Year' has started, UEFA announced Monday.

They include five goalkeepers, 15 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards.

The votes can be cast at till Jan. 11 and the final line-up will be announced on the same day.

"The nominees were chosen by the editorial team, including seasoned reporters and expert correspondents, on the basis of players' performances for a European club or national team in UEFA competitions in the 2018 calendar year," UEFA said.

UEFA Champions League winners Real Madrid has nine nominees, UEFA Champions League runners-up Liverpool and UEFA Europa League winners Atletico Madrid each have six players involved.

A total of 14 clubs appear on the shortlist and 20 nationalities are represented.

Last year 9 million votes were cast.

The complete list of nominees is as follows:


Alisson Becker (AS Roma/Liverpool), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)


Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Jose Gimenez (Atletico Madrid), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Kostas Manolas (Roma), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), John Stones (Manchester City), Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)


Casemiro (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Isco (Real Madrid), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), James Milner (Liverpool), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Miralem Pjanic (Juventus), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (FC Barcelona), David Silva (Manchester City), Florian Thauvin (Marseille)


Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Edin Dzeko (Roma), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Team of the Year nominees by club are as follows:

9 Real Madrid

7 Barcelona

6 Atletico, Liverpool

4 Juventus

3 Manchester City, Paris

2 Bayern, Chelsea, Marseille, Roma, Tottenham

1 Manchester United, Napoli

Team of the Year nominees by national team are as follows:

10 France

6 Spain

5 Brazil

4 Uruguay

3 England, Germany

2 Argentina, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Senegal

1 Costa Rica, Egypt, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Wales

Team of the Year nominees by domestic league are as follows:

22 Liga (Spain)

14 Premier League (England)

7 Serie A (Italy)

5 Ligue 1 (France)

2 Bundesliga (Germany)


Source News Express

Posted 11/12/2018 11:18:53 AM





You may also like...
Host communities open up on 20-year ordeal, seek...

HIV/Aids: China reports 14 pct surge in new...

Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell, 2 other oil giants sued...

InnJoo and TD showcase world’s most romantic laptop...

Delta community cries out over new-style killings by...

FG releases N22.68bn to defunct Airways workers, N20b...

Konga appoints corporate guru Ijogun as Chairman

2019: Okowa advocates alternative source of funding for...

IPOB storms South African Parliament to ask for...

Senate, UK parliament to deepen democracy in Nigeria...

Insecurity may mar 2019 polls — Northern royal...

Man sentenced to death for murder and N200...


Latest News Southeast governors threaten Nnamdi Kanu APC vice-chairman shot dead What you should know about billionaire kidnap kingpin Wadume Fear grips Lagos community as four children disappear UNIPORT graduate awaiting NYSC shot dead Gunmen abduct 14 in Kaduna 4 policemen arrested for murder in Lagos Nollywood producer spends N40 million on her hair Atiku Vs Buhari: Presidential Election Tribunal reserves judgement Akwa Ibom tribunal: ‘My party didn’t work to win’, APC chieftain confesses OML 112: Court restrains RMAFC, AGF from deducting Rivers allocation Death toll from Tanzania tanker explosion hits 100


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (529,252 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (438,674 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (383,571 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (322,423 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (290,369 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (251,285 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (246,030 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (233,029 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (228,017 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (214,237 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (193,112 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (190,988 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (98) Business & Economy (4,397) Business Verdict (79) Columnists (1,095) Complaints & Requests (95) Enterprise & Opportunities (215) Entertainment (648) Features (795) Global Business Monitor (420) ICT Monitor (58) International (3,851) Interview (198) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (166) Maggie's Blog (383) News (50,247) Opinion (1,327) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,327) Religion (1,085) Sports (2,133) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera