Police beefs up security, as Ondo Assembly embarks on indefinite adjournment

Posted by Damisi Ojo, Akure | 10 November 2018 | 1,065 times

Gmail icon

Security has been beefed up around the premises of the Ondo State House of Assembly complex, Igbatoro road, Akure, the state capital.

The Speaker, Bamidele Oleyelogun, has also announced the indefinite suspension of 15 lawmakers of the Assembly who were among the 18 lawmakers that purportedly impeached him at the floor of the house on Friday.

The suspended lawmakers also include Olamide George, who was said to have been elected as the new Speaker during a rowdy session.

The affected lawmakers were suspended over ‘unruly conduct’ at the plenary sitting presided over by the Speaker, Bamidele Oleyelogun.

Oleyelogun described his purported impeachment as laughable, insisting that he remained the Speaker of the House.

He said no impeachment at all and nothing has changed in the House. He described those who purportedly impeached him as comedians, adding that their action is capable of putting the name of the Honourable House into disrepute.

According to him, what happened in the Assembly was an  internal crisis of the House which would  be resolved soon.

At the plenary sitting, Acting Majority Leader, Jamiu Maito moved a motion for the adoption of proceedings of last sitting which was seconded by Sunday Olajide.

The Clerk of the House, Mr. Bode Adeyelu read a request from Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu for an executive bill seeking the establishment of the Consumer Protection Council which was however stepped down till the next sitting.

The Speaker expressed his displeasure over the conduct of the 15 lawmakers earlier in the day, saying their behaviour was capable of putting the state into unnecessary crisis. He,  therefore announced their indefinite suspension.

Maito then moved the motion for the indefinite adjournment of the house which was seconded by the Deputy Speaker, Iroju Ogundeji.

Other lawmakers suspended include, Abimbola Fajolu; Malachi Coker; Araoyinbo Olugbenga; Ade Adeniyi; Sola Ebiwonjumi; Olusegun Ajimotokin;  Tuyi Akintimehin and Jumoke Akindele.

The rest are Fasogbon Akinyele; Olugbenga Akinsoyinu; Samuel Arowele; Vincent Obadiah; Fatai Olotu; Mukaila Musa.

The speaker said the suspended lawmakers should not be seen around the Assembly premises. The House thereafter adjourned plenary sitting indefinitely.

 Sourced from The Nation report

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...