APC Guber Primaries: Lalong, El-Rufai, Adelabu win in Plateau, Kaduna, Oyo

Posted by News Express | 1 October 2018 | 1,331 times

Gmail icon

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Sunday held governorship primaries nationwide.

Although the primaries were postponed in some states, members of the party in other states went to the poll and picked governorship candidate of their choice.

Some other states candidates emerged as sole candidate.

In Plateau State, the incumbent Governor Simon Lalong was elected through a voice affirmation in which the Speaker of Plateau State House of Assembly, Joshua Madaki moved the motion.

The motion was supported by former Deputy Governor and member of APC Board of Trustee, Pauline Tallen.

In Kaduna State, the incumbent Governor Nasir El-rufai won the primaries.

El-Rufai was the sole candidate in the contest and he polled 2,427 out 2,457 of  the  total votes cast by  the party delegates to emerge winner of the election.

In Oyo State, a former Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Deputy Governor, Adebayo Adelabu, emerged winner after other contestants stepped down for his candidacy.

Adelabu is the grandson of the Ibadan notable politician, Adegoke Adelabu, popularly known as Penkelemesi.

Sourced from a Channels TV report

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...