49 lawmakers declare support for Saraki, Ekweremadu

Posted by Cecilia Ijuo | 7 August 2018 | 1,507 times

Gmail icon

49 senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) platform on Tuesday, declared support for President of the Senate, Dr Bukola Saraki and his deputy, Chief Ike Ekweremadu.

The lawmakers affirmed their support on a list made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja, saying they were all illegal plots against both principal officers of the senate.

“We, the undersigned senators hereby declare our total supported for Sen. Bukola Saraki and Ike Ekweremadu, as the President of the Senate and Deputy President of the Senate.

“We are against any purported illegal impeachment being cooked up by a few minorities.’’

The senators are Rabiu Kwankwaso (PDP-Kano), Biodun Olujimi (PDP-Ekiti), Joshua Lidani (PDP-Gombe), Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP-Taraba), Jonah Jang (PDP-Plateau) and Dino Melaye (PDP-Kogi).

Others include Ben Bruce (PDP-Bayelsa), Rafiu Ibrahim (PDP-Kwara), Philip Aduda (PDP-Federal Capital Territory), Ubale Shittu (PDP-Jigawa) and Philip Gyunka (PDP-Nasarawa).

The atmosphere at the National Assembly was earlier on Tuesday, charged as some lawmakers, newsmen and staff of the National Assembly were refused entry into the National Assembly by security operatives.

The security operatives who were in their numbers, barricaded entrance to the complex as early as 7 a.m.

Although no reasons were given for the development, there were fillers that it was not unconnected with purported plot to impeach the presiding officers of the senate. (NAN)

•Photo by Mayowa Okekale shows the pro-Saraki senators jubilating and standing in solidarity against the impeachment process being plotted by the APC against Saraki

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...