ZANU-PF widens lead as vote count continues in Zimbabwe

Posted by News Express | 1 August 2018 | 1,659 times

Gmail icon

•President Emmerson Mnangagwa of Zimbabwe

ZANU-PF, Zimbabwe’s ruling party took an early lead over the opposition MDC-Alliance in the first election of the post-Robert Mugabe era, initial results showed.

Out of the 48 parliamentary results declared so far, ZANU-PF won 37 seats, while the opposition MDC -Alliance won 11.

The results were declared by Zimbabwe Electoral Commission officials including chairwoman Priscilla Chigumba on Tuesday in the capital, Harare.

The tally for the presidential ballot will be announced once results from all provinces are received and verified, Chigumba said.

Under Zimbabwean law, the final results must be released by August 4. But the social media was awash with unofficial results, with Chamisa claiming in a tweet early today that he had won ‘resoundingly’.

Chamisa’s MDC-Alliance also accused Chigumba’s ZEC, of trying to alter the results, after the commission failed to meet a 3p.m promise to announce some preliminary results.

More than 5.6-million people registered to vote at 10,985 polling stations for the president, 350 lawmakers and local government representatives.

Here are the National Assembly results announced by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission so far today:

Chiredzi South-Killion Gwanetsa-Zanu-PF
Chiredzi West-Augustine Musikavanhu-Zanu-PF
Chipinge West-Nyamudeza Sibongile-MDC Alliance
Chipinge East-Mlambo Mathias-MDC Alliance
Gutu South-Togarepi Pupurai-Zanu-PF
Kadoma Central-Muchineripi Chinyanganya-MDC Alliance
Mutare Central-Gonese Innocent-MDC Alliance
Chinhoyi-Mataruse Peter-MDC Alliance
Mutare North-Madiro Michael-Zanu-PF

Muzarabani South-Saizi Tapera-Zanu-PF
Murewa North-Garwe Daniel-Zanu-PF
Buhera West-Dzuma Soul-Zanu-PF
Chipinge Central-Machingura Raymore-Zanu-PF
Mhondoro-Mubaira-Kapuya Freddy-Zanu-PF
Umguza-Moyo Richard-Zanu-PF
Mberengwa South-Mpofu Alum-Zanu-PF
Uzumba-Mudarikwa Simbaneuta-Zanu-PF
Kwekwe Central-Matambanadzo Masango-NPF
Mberengwa West-Gumbo Joram-Zanu-PF

Shurugwi North-Nyathi Ronald-Zanu-PF
Mberengwa North-Zhou Tafanana-Zanu-PF
Zvishavane-Ngezi-Mawite Dumezweni-Zanu-PF
Zvishavane-Runde-Mpame Cuthbert-Zanu-PF
Marondera Central-Matewu Caston-MDC Alliance
Mutoko East-Musiyiwa Richard-Zanu-PF
Chikomba East-Kanhutu Nzenza-Zanu-PF
Mutoko North-Chinomona Mabel-Zanu-PF

Marondera East-Chidakwa Patrick-Zanu-PF
Mutoko South-Shumbamhini Hebert-Zanu-PF
Mudzi West-Mudyiwa Magna-Zanu-PF
Chikomba West-Mangwiro Johnsen-Zanu-PF
Murewa West-Sewera Jonah-Zanu-PF
Hwange East-Sansole Tose-MDC Alliance
Hwange West-Dube Godfrey-MDC Alliance
Insiza South-Sithole Spare-Zanu-PF
Lupane West-Khumalo Martin-Zanu-PF
Gwanda South-Ncube Abedinico-Zanu-PF

Nkayi South-Mathe Stars-Zanu-PF
Makokoba-Sithole James-MDC Alliance
Emakhandeni-Entumbane-Tshuma Dingilizwe-MDC Alliance
Chiredzi North-Baila Royi-Zanu-PF
Marondera West-Inviolata Makunyaidze-Zanu-PF
Mudzi North-Newton Kachepa-Zanu-PF
Masvingo South-Claudios Maronge-Zanu-PF
Gwanda Central-Dube Patrick-MDC Alliance
Masvingo West-Chadzira Ezra-Zanu-PF
Hwedza South-Machakarika Tinoda-Zanu-PF
Chiredzi East-Masiya Denford-Zanu-PF.

•Sourced from NAN.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...