Major shake-up in Akwa Ibom, new Chief of Staff appointed

Posted by News Express | 13 May 2014 | 11,272 times

Gmail icon

Commissioners and Special Advisers in Akwa Ibom have been re-assigned new portfolios in what the state government says is in line with its on-going re-invigoration of the machinery of government.

A Government House statement made available to News Express said: “Governor Godswill Akpabio, who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr. Udom Emmanuel has approved the re-assignment of portfolios.

“Emmanuel, who announced this Tuesday at the Governor’s Office, Uyo, mentioned the Commissioners who retained their portfolios to include Barr. Ekpenyong Ntekim – Ministries of Justice; Mr. Godwin Afangideh – Agriculture; Mr. Don Etim – Works; Dr. Glory Edet – Women Affairs; Dr. EmemAbasi Bassey – Health and Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem – Special Duties and Mr. Enobong Uwah – Environment and Mineral Resources.

“Mr. Aniekan Umana – Information and Communications; Mr. Eno Akpan – Lands and Town Planning; Mr. Ufort Tobi Nkangude – Commerce and Industry; Mr. Akan Okon – Finance; Mr. Iboro Ekanem – Science and Technology and Mr. Ita Udo – Culture and Tourism also maintained their portfolios.

“Other Commissioners are Prof. Atim Antai – Education; Mr. Godwin Ntukudeh – Transport; Mr. Monday Uko – Youths and Sports; Prince Uwem Ita Etuk – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Mr. Ante Okwong – Economic Development; Mr. Adasi Ubulom – Housing and Commerce and Engr. Ignatius Edet – Rural Development.

“Special Advisers are Engr. Etido Inyang – Bureaux of Technical Matters; Chief Senas Ukpanah – Investment and Industry; Mr. Godwin Udom – Labour and Productivity; Mr. Emmanuel Ibiok – Political and Legislative Affairs and Mr. Ekpenyong Asuquo Enyina – Co-operative.

“In the same vein, the state Task Force on Petroleum Monitoring has been re-constituted with Obong Essien Esema as its Chairman.

“Members include Sgt. Umar Isa, representative of the Nigerian Army; DSP. Antony Ofuna representative of the Nigerian Police; Mr. Philip Ibru, representative of the Directorate of State Security; Mrs. Dorothy Umoisong, Office of the Special Services Department; Elder Uwem Edet Akpan, Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN); and Chief Francis Inyang, major marketers.

“Others are Comrade Ekong Antai, labour; Engr. Anietie Emeh, Nigerian Immigration Service; Mr. Utile James Etim, Civil Defence; Obong Emem Augustine Edet, NURTW; Ufort Christian Amos, member; Chief Francis Inyang, member; Col. Usua Uko, member while Apostole John Sunday Udo is the Secretary.

“Inauguration of the committees is fixed Wednesday, May 14, 2014 at the Conference Room of the SSG Office by 10 a.m.

“Meanwhile, Elder Etekemba Umoren, immediate past Permanent Secretary of Government House is now the Chief of Staff, Government House, Uyo.

“In order to ensure the co-ordination and inspection projects across the state, government has directed transfer and management of the Inter-Ministerial Direct Labour Committee to the Governor’s Office under the supervision of the SSG.

“The above appointments and directives take immediate effect.”

•Photo shows Gov. Godswill Akpabio receiving a momentum from Major-General Emmanuel J. Atewe, Commander, Operation Polo Shield, during his Courtesy Visit to the governor at the Governor’s Office, Uyo.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...