Fidelity bank banner UBA banner
Senate confirms Smith as PSC chair

By Deji Elumoye, Abuja on 17/07/2018

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon Share on Google+

Views: 513

•Musiliu Smith
•Musiliu Smith

The Senate on Tuesday confirmed the nomination of former Inspector General of Police, Mr. Musiliu Smith, as Chairman of Police Service Commission, PSC.

Five other nominees were also confirmed by the Senate as full-time Commissioners and members of the PSC.

This was sequel to the consideration of the Report of the Committee on Police Affairs presented by the Chairman, Senator Abu Ibrahim (Katsina South), for the nomination of Smith and six others as chairman and members of the Police Service Commission in compliance with the provision of Sections 153(1) and 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

Senator Ibrahim after reading his committee’s report moved the motion for the adoption of the report and was seconded by Senator Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu).
The confirmed members of the PSC include AIG Lawal Bawa (rtd) and Justice Clara Ogunbiyi (rtd) as full-time commissioners.

Others are Dr. Nkemka Jombo-Ofo, Rommy Mom and Braimah Austin as ordinary members.

Also Tuesday, the Senate President read two letters from President seeking the confirmation of Muiz Banire, immediate past National Legal Adviser of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as chairman of the Governing Board of the Assets Management Corporation of Nigeria, AMCON, and Dr, Bello Ingawa and 12 others as chairman and commissioners of Federal Civil Service Commission, FCSC.

President Buhari in the letter nominating Banire dated July 11 said he was nominating the former Lagos State Transport Commissioner in compliance with section 10(1) of AMCON Act 2010.

The other nominees for the FCSC according to the letter from President Buhari and dated July 12 include Moses Ngbale, Waziri Ngumo, Bello Babura, Ahmed Sama, Iyabo Odulate-Yusuf and Shehu Danyaya.

Others are Fatai Olapade, Ejoh Chukwuemeka, Joe Poroma, Ibrahim Mohammed, Aminu Sheidu and Simon Etim.
President Buhari said he was requesting for the confirmation of the chairman and 12 commissioners for FCSC in compliance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended). (NAN)

Source News Express

Posted 17/07/2018 7:47:29 PM


Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon Share on Google+




You may also like...
Buhari orders establishment of technical committees on new...

Facebook CEO Zuckerberg loses $16b in 5 minutes...

Restructuring: What’s wrong with the ‘Abacha Document’?

NPA set to host International Maritime Conference

NiMet sets up inter-agency task team for flood...

Bishop laments increasing menace of herdsmen, tasks FG...

Nigerian Navy assures adequate maritime security for Yuletide...

Panic as Boko Haram sends (in writing) notice...

434 dead as cholera ravages 18 states

Road crash claims African Examiner Managing Editor, Femi...

‘Boko video my foot’: Dokubo insists no girls...

More trouble for Customs CG Hameed Ali as...


Latest News Boko Haram kills another abducted Red Cross worker, threatens to enslave Leah Sharibu Microsoft co-founder succumbs to cancer Presidency reportedly orders EFCC to detain Fayose indefinitely Kano lawmakers probe alleged bribery by Governor Ganduje How I’ll deliver one million votes for Governor Emmanuel’s second term — Elijah Ifot, Akwa Ibom leader in Lagos 2019: NEFAD endorses Atiku, Umahi 2019 Presidency: Igbo Ekunie berates Southeast PDP for position on Atiku’s choice of Peter Obi as running mate Police summons PDP guber candidate over alleged murder 2019 elections: INEC insists Zamfara APC has no candidate Adeleke to be docked 31 October for exam fraud ASUU splits in two over attack on vice-chancellor of FUOYE Atiku can get our economy working again — Spokesman


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (406,459 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (382,164 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (314,541 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (256,461 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (237,236 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (224,207 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (203,947 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (185,437 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (169,979 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (165,815 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (161,377 views) Gunmen kill ASP, 2 other police officers in vain bid to kidnap Rivers PDP chieftain (149,201 views)


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (67) Business & Economy (3,680) Business Verdict (52) Columnists (945) Complaints & Requests (94) Enterprise & Opportunities (207) Entertainment (559) Features (659) Global Business Monitor (304) International (2,530) Interview (165) Live Commentary (28) Love Matters (145) News (39,629) Opinion (1,123) Pidgin (13) Politics (7,230) Religion (880) Sports (1,730) Stock Watch (35) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update


Zenith Zero Balance

NLNG Expression of Interest banner

CBN banner

Firstmobile banner




Fulham vs Arsenal 1-5 All Goals & Extended Highlights


APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera