Ikanya bounces back as Chairman as Rivers APC elects 36-man EXCO

Posted by News Express | 27 April 2014 | 4,489 times

Gmail icon

There was no change at the helm as the Rivers State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday elected an Executive Committee (EXCO) to run the affairs of the party, with a view to installing an APC administration in the state in 2015.

The election which took place at the Alfred Diete-Spiff Civic Centre in Port Harcourt was held in a peaceful atmosphere under the watch of the State Governor, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, the State APC Leader, represented by his Deputy, Engr. Tele Ikuru. It was supervised by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Dr. Davies Ibiamu Ikanya, who until yesterday morning was the State Interim Chairman of the party, emerged the first elected Chairman of APC in Rivers State unopposed, polling 1,619 votes from the 2,093 delegates. He was declared the winner by Chief Cosmos Maduba, the Congress Committee Chairman and Returning Officer.

A tested politician, Dr. Ikanya was the National Secretary of the defunct Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN) and later the party’s gubernatorial candidate during the general election of 2007 won by Amaechi. He was appointed Commissioner for Special Duties in 2008 and was the Chairman of the Forum of Opposition Political Parties (FOPP) in Rivers State, a forum he used to stabilise political setting in the state by ensuring that the opposition political parties worked with the then PDP ruling party under the watch and leadership of Governor Amaechi.

Chief Emeka Bekee, the immediate past Interim Secretary and a strong pillar in Governor Amaechi’s political camp, polled 1,551 votes to emerge Secretary, while a seasoned Journalist and Publisher, Mr. Chris Finebone, was elected Publicity Secretary, with Alex Hart as Treasurer and Mr. Uku Dandison as Organising Secretary. Others in the 36-man EXCO include the Women Leader of the Interim Committee, Evangelist Carol Nagbo, who was elected Women Leader, and Barr. S. Eli as Youth Leader 

An elated Dr. Ikanya described his election as an act of God and thanked Governor Amaechi, stakeholders and members of the party for considering him worthy of such an honour. He promised not to disappoint and vowed to ensure that APC forms the next Government in the state next year.

Dr. Ikanya stated: “I sincerely thank God and the delegates for ensuring that I was elected against every other odd. Gov. Amaechi has demonstrated that he is a true democrat by allowing the votes of the delegates to count. APC and her members in Rivers State have shown a high sense of decorum, democratic acts, brotherhood and unity that need to be explored by other stakeholders in our polity for the survival of our nascent democracy. The party has been very fair to the contestants and I hope that they will assist to ensure that APC forms the next government come 2015 for the great future of our dear State. With this result and calibre of people elected to work with me, PDP can now go to sleep as we are determined to ensure the victory of APC come 2015 by the grace of God.”

The Congress was organised by the Rivers State APC Congress Committee with Chief Cosmos Maduba as Chairman with Engr. Francis Ebitei, Alhaji Mohammed Saba, Hon. (Mrs.) Scholastica Omowurare and Mr. Chibuike Ogbeama as members. 

Special Guests and members of the party that attended the Congress included George Feyii, Secretary to the State Government; Dame Aleruchi Cookey-Gam, Sole Administrator, Greater Port Harcourt City Development Authority; and Tony Okocha, Chief of Staff, Government House.

Others were Senators Magnus Abe, Wilson Asinobi Ake, Representatives Dakuku Adol Peterside, Asita Honourable Asita, Ogbonna Nwuke, Barinada Mpigi, Chief Ike Chinwo, Marcus Nle-Ejii and Dr. Ipalibo Harry. Other members of the state Executive Council such as Mrs. Ibim Semenitari, Commissioner for Information and Communications, also attended.

Council chairmen that attended were the Mayor of Port Harcourt, Chimbiko Akarolo; Hon. Oji Nyimenuate Ngofa (Eleme); Tamuno Williams (Okrika); Oro Nte Ereforokuma (Andoni); Udi Odum (Abua/Odual); Cassidy Ikegbidi (Ahoada East); Gregory Nwidam (Khana); and Theodore Georgewill (Akuku Toru).

•Photo shows Dr. Ikanya.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...