BREAKING: Senate approves 2 Deputy Governors, 3 MPC members for CBN

Posted by Mayowa Okekale, Abuja | 22 March 2018 | 1,416 times

Gmail icon

•CBN Headquarters

The Senate has finally approved the nomination of two Deputy Governors for the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and three out of four members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) for the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The approved Deputy Governors are:

Mrs. Aishah Ahmad
Mr. Edward Adamu

The nominees of the MPC approved are:

Professor Adeola Festus Adenikinju
Dr. Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi
Dr. Robert Chikwendu Asogwa
Dr. Asheikh A. Maidugu

However, Dr. Asheik Maidugu was however rejected due to faults discovered by the Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions, chaired by Senator Rafiu Ibrahim.

News Express reports that the red chamber placed an embargo on confirmation of appointments sent by President Muhammadu Buhari in July 2017, which stalled about 32 of them.

The Senate, however, made a U-turn last week due to possible economic challenges which the country could face if the committee is unable to convene a meeting.

The Leader of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, contributing to the development during the plenary on Thursday, urged the Executive to immediately send a replacement for the rejected nominee in order to meet the deadline slated for the next meeting of the committee.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...