Gov Sani-Bello wipes tears of Bida market inferno victims with N20m

Posted by News Express | 9 March 2018 | 1,491 times

Gmail icon

•Governor Sani-Bello

Niger State Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani-Bello, has donated the sum N20 million to victims of last Thursday’s fire that engulfed the Etsu Musa Market, Bida as part of efforts to ease their hardship

Governor Sani-Bello disclosed this in Bida on Thursday at the Estu Nupe’s Palace while commiserating with the traders and the people of Bida Emirate.

He said the N20 million was to enable the victims find ways to resume their businesses and earn their source of living as a committee would be set up to look into compensating those that were affected.

“For the main time, we are donating the sum of N 20 million cash to those that were affect by the fire disaster. Niger State Emergency Management Agency (NSEMA), together with a committee that will be set up will investigate and take stock of the losses suffered by the people to ensure that they are compensated,” he said.

The Governor, while describing the fire incidence as unfortunate, assured the people of a fire service station in the market and also directed NSEMA to provide safety devices to avoid further occurrence in the proposed new market in case of emergency.

He called on the people to cooperate with the committee as they carry out their investigations and has also prayed God to replenish them.

Governor Sani-Bello, who visited the scene alongside the Estu Nupe, Alh. Yayaha Abubakar, and other top government officials, promised to investigate the cause of the incident.

Also speaking, the Etsu Nupe, who doubles as Chairman the State Council of Traditional Rulers, commended the Governor for the timely intervention and called on the people to ensure maximum cooperation with the committee.

He also stated that a committee will be set up at the local government level to carry out the investigation.

Apart from the Etsu Nupe, the Governor was accompanied to the market by the Speaker, Niger State House of Assembly, Hon. Ahmed Marafa; Senator Mustapha Sani; Chief of Staff, Mikail Al-Amin Bmitosahi; Head of Service, Alh. Sule Yabagi; Commissioners; Special Advisers; Directors-General; women leaders; APC stakeholders and other government officials.

Also with the Governor were members of the House of the House of Representatives: Honourables Umar Bago, Lado Suleja, Mahmud Mohammed, Abdullahi Mai Sola and Shehu Slow, as well as former House of Representatives members, Hon Mahmoud PRP and Hon Ibrahim Ebbo.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...