Breaking: Ogoni, Itsekiri finally make National Conference delegates list •APGA, others lose slots

Posted by News Express | 13 March 2014 | 5,457 times

Gmail icon

The Nigerian Government this afternoon amended the list of delegates to the National Conference expected to hold from this month till May.

A statement by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, entitled ‘Corrigendum on the National Conference Delegates List’ accommodates the Ogoni ethnic group of Rivers State and Itsekiri ethnic group of Delta State, both of which had threatened fire and brimstone over their exclusion from the conference.

New delegates were appointed for some interest groups while the nomination of others was withdrawn. Among the biggest losers is the All progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), which had its two nominees withdrawn and the slots left vacant pending when the party resolves its leadership crisis. Government had earlier accepted the nominees of Chief Maxi Okwu but rival National Chairman, Sir Victor Umeh, protested against the action. Both Okwu and Umeh and parading different court verdicts to back up their claim to APGA leadership.

Below is the text of the statement:

​Following the release of the list of delegates to the National Conference, some updates, changes and adjustments have been effected as follows:

Elder Statesmen: Dr. Kunle Olajide from Ekiti State replaces Chief Afe Babalola, SAN.

Traditional Rulers: His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro, the Etsu of Bwari, replaces His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ismail Danlami Mohammed, Sarki of Karshi, on the request of the National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria.

Women Groups (National Council of Women Societies): Mrs. Millicent Okoronkwo replaces Mrs. Love Ezema on the request of the National Council of Women Societies of Nigeria.

Political Parties (APGA): The nomination of Chief Chris Ejike Uche and Dr. Sagir Auwal Maidoya to represent APGA is withdrawn to allow the Party resolve the issue of its nominees.

Socio-Political/Cultural and Ethnic Nationality Groups:

South West Geo-Political Zone

1. ​Prince Rabiu Oluwa replaces Supo Sonibare.

2.​ Oba Kehinde Olugbenle replaces Barr. Niyi Akintola, SAN, whose nameis retained in the Oyo State delegates list.

National Academies: Professor Layi Erinosho has been nominated by the Academy of Social Sciences to fill the one (1) slot allocated to the Academy.

Former Political Office Holders (Former Governors): The former Governors Forum has nominated Alhaji Mohammed Goni from Borno State to fill the slot for the North East Geo-Political Zone.

State Governments and FCT: The following State Governments have submitted a nominee each to fill the vacant slot in their respective State’s delegates list:

1.​ Delta State – ​Chief Isaac O. Jemide;

2.​ Edo State – Prof. Eddy Erhagbe;

3.​ Oyo State – Chief (Mrs.) Onikepo Akande;

4.​ Rivers State – ​Chief Sampson Agbaru; and

5.​ Yobe State – ​Engr. Abubakar Buba Galadima.


1. ​Hon. Wole Oshun

2.​ Mr. Ledum Metee

3.​ Barr. Mike Ozekhome

4.​ Barr. Anthony Akika

5.​ Alhaji Sule Iyaji

6.​ DIG (Amb) Abdulmumuni M. Abubakar (rtd)


The Inauguration of the National Conference is scheduled as follows:

​Date:​​ Monday, 17th March, 2014

​Venue: ​National Judicial Institute (Along Airport Road), Abuja.

​Time:​​4.30 pm

The following are invited to attend the Inauguration Ceremony:

​(i)​ Former Presidents and Heads of State;

​(ii) ​The Leadership of Political Parties;

​(iii) ​Members of the National Assembly;

​(iv)​ State Governors;

​(v)​ Hon. Members of the Judiciary;

(vi) ​Members of the Federal Executive Council;

(vii) ​Members of the Diplomatic Corps;

​(viii) ​Religious Leaders; and

​(ix)​ Traditional Rulers.

Delegates and Guests are to be seated by 4.00 pm.

Photo shows SGF Anyim Pius Anyim.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...