Ejiofor misses Oscar but film that brought him global acclaim wins 3 awards

Posted by News Express | 3 March 2014 | 3,888 times

Gmail icon

Nigeria’s renowned international actor Chiwetel Ejiofor last night failed to grab an individual Oscar but he shared in the glory as 12 Years a Slave, the film that brought him to global acclaim, won three awards at the colourful event held in Los Angeles.

Ejiofor (shown in photo), last month won the best actor’s award at both the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards and the 2014 British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) awards. He, however, lost the Oscar Best Actor Award to Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club).

That notwithstanding, Ejiofor had much to celebrate when 12 Years a Slave won the Best Picture award in addition to one of the cast, Lupita Nyong’o, winning the Best Actress in a Supporting Role award and 12 Years a Slave also picking the Best Adapted Screenplay award.


Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)

Best Animated Feature: Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho)

Best Cinematography: Gravity (Emmanuel Lubezki)

Best Costume Design: The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin)

Best Directing: Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón)

Best Documentary Feature: 20 Feet from Stardom

Best Documentary Short: The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life (Malcolm Clarke, Nicholas Reed)

Best Film Editing: Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger)

Best Foreign Language Film: The Great Beauty (Italy)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Dallas Buyers Club (Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews)

Best Original Score: Gravity (Steven Price)

Best Original Song: Let It Go - Frozen

Best Production Design: The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn)

Best Animated Short Film: Mr. Hublot (Laurent Witz, Alexandre Espigares)

Best Live Action Short Film: Helium (Anders Walter, Kim Magnusson)

Best Sound Editing: Gravity (Glenn Freemantle)

Best Sound Mixing: Gravity (Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro)

Best Visual Effects: Gravity (Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould)

Best Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave (John Ridley)

Best Original Screenplay: Her (Spike Jonze)

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...