Breaking: 2 more candidates throw in the towel as PDP national chairmanship race hots up

Posted by News Express | 9 December 2017 | 21,458 times

Gmail icon

•PDP National Convention Organising Committee Chairman, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa

Two more aspirants for the national chairmanship position in Saturday’s Peoples Democratic Party National Convention, High Chief Raymond Dokpesi and Jimi Agbaje, have quit the race, according to a report by The Eagle Online.

“The announcement by the aspirants comes a few hours after another high profile aspirant, Chief Olabode George, quit the race,” the report said.

“George had cited the failure of the party to micro zone the position to the South West as reason.

“The convention is scheduled to hold at the Eagle Square in Abuja.

“With the decision of George, Dokpesi and Agbaje to quit, six persons are now left in the race for the national chairmanship,” the report said.

News Express reports that the remaining candidates are Uche Secondus, Gbenga Daniel, Rashidi Ladoja, Taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran and Aderemi Olusegun.

Chairman of the screening committee, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, had on Friday evening announced the screening and clearance of the nine chairmanship candidates.

Chairman of the Organising Committee of the Convention, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa – Governor of Delta State – yesterday evening expressed satisfaction with arrangements made for the event. He assured party members of credible and transparent elections.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...