All set for THE BIG BATTLE as PDP clears 9 chairmanship candidates

Posted by News Express | 8 December 2017 | 2,067 times

Gmail icon

Nine persons have been cleared to contest for the chairmanship position of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at its national convention billed for today with the Chairman of the organising committee for the convention, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, expressing satisfaction with the arrangements made for the event.

At a well attended press briefing at the Wadata Plaza, national secretariat of PDP on Friday,  Governor Okowa said all the sub-committees for the convention have worked commendably, leaving no stone unturned to ensure a hitch-free convention.

“We have had very peaceful meetings, the meetings have reassured us about our level of preparedness, the screening committee has done its job, we want to deliver an electoral process that is blameless, free and fair which outcome will strengthen our party,” he said.

He stated that all the Chairmanship candidates have been presented with full list of delegates and agents of the candidates, disclosing that security is of utmost importance.

According to him, the security committee is working with different security agencies to ensure that there is no breach during the convention.

Chairman of the screening committee, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu had listed names of cleared chairmanship candidates as Uche Secondus, Gbenga Daniel, Jimi Agbaje, Rashidi Ladoja, Taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran, Olabode George, Raymond Dokpesi and Aderemi Olusegun.

Also speaking, the Chairman of Post-Election Reconciliation Committee, Mr Seriake Dickson, who is the Governor of Bayelsa State, urged all the candidates to put the interest of the party first and should imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship as they go for the convention.

From the Wadata Plaza, Governor Okowa and members of the organising committee moved to the Eagle Square, Abuja, venue of the convention where he expressed satisfaction that the place was ready for the event, emphasising that since it is a delegate election, only accredited delegates would be allowed into the venue.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee for the Convention, Mr Gabriel Suswam, former Governor of Benue State, informed members of the Committee that all that was needed for a transparent, free and fair election has been put in place, disclosing that the election will be such that more than one state’s delegates will vote simultaneously.

•Photo shows Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa (2nd left); Governor of Taraba State, Arc. Darius Iskaku (left); Bayelsa State Governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson (2nd right); and Senator Ben Obi, at the Presentation of Certificate of Clearance to PDP National Chairmanship Candidates, in Wadada Plaza, Abuja


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...