Owerri community celebrates Ex-Falcons Keeper, Ann Chiejine, other achievers

Posted by News Express | 8 December 2017 | 3,968 times

Gmail icon

•Ann Chiejine receiving her award

 Nigeria’s foremost female goalkeeper, Ann Chiejine, was among distinguished awardees at the 2017 edition of the Umunahu Community Development Union, Lagos, Awards. She was honoured with the Excellent Leadership Award by the community where she hails from, in Owerri North Local Government Area of Imo State.

Organisers of the award ceremony, which took place on December 3 at Nitel Complex Oshodi, described the event as a memorable one and a great opportunity to express joy to their illustrious sons and daughters who have brought honour, and made outstanding contributions towards the development of the community and the country.

Chairman of the Union, Hon. Charles Obiako, described the day as one set aside “to honour our past leaders, our brothers and sisters who have made uncountable and immeasurable contributions towards the growth of the community, humanity and Nigeria in their various endeavours.”

For some of the awardees, their excitement knew no bounds. An elated Chiejine, a former Super Falcons goalkeeper, who was flanked by her husband, Uche, said she was overwhelmed by the joy of being honoured by the community leaders. “If these awards were to be sold, I don’t think I have reached the level of buying any,” she declared in an emotion-laden voice.

Reuben Nnodi, a former President of the Union, who was also honoured with the Excellent Leadership Award, broke down in tears of joy as he recounted, with gratitude to God, the level of progress some members of the community have made over time.

The presence of the ex-police officer at the occasion attracted loud ovation for his numerous contributions to the development of the community. Paying tribute to Nnodi, the immediate past president of the Union, Chief Vitalis Ofoegbu, described him as an outstanding community leader who dedicated his service years to the welfare of his kinsmen.

Also honoured in the Excellent Leadership category were Eddie Nnadi, Lolo Catherine Azuwuike, Eunice Ukaonu, Violet Nwagbara and Raymond Aharanwa.

In the Family Building Excellence Award category, seven distinguished community leaders were honoured. They are Apostle Celestine Emehara, Stanley Ibeawuchi, Comrade Peter Nwagbara, Patrick Uzodinma, Peter Oparaocha, Deacon Ben Mbara and Emeka Obioma.

Similarly, four outstanding members of the community bagged the Sustained Long Membership Award. They are Comfort Akuwudike, Rose Osuji, George Chido Nnadi and Anthony Monday Olugazie.

The ceremony witnessed massive turnout of friends and relatives of the honourees.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...