FG inaugurates Alex Ekwueme burial committee

Posted by Kate Obande-Okewu | 6 December 2017 | 2,167 times

Gmail icon

•Late former Vice-President, Dr Alex Ekwueme

The Federal Government on Tuesday in Abuja inaugurated an 11-member committee to organise a state burial for former Vice President, Dr Alex Ekwueme, who died on November 19 in London.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha urged the members to ensure that Ekwueme got a befitting state burial.

Mustapha, who is also the Chairman of the committee, said that it was open to new ideas, stressing however that the work plan to be used was in tandem with previous state burial committees.

He described late Ekwueme, 85, as an "all rounder" who earned different levels of degrees in various fields, ranging from Architecture to Sociology, History, Philosophy and Law.

“Owing to the top public office he once held in Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari thought it befitting to organise a state burial for him.

“This is also in keeping with the tradition in that regard as was done to Admiral Augustus Aikhomu, former Chief of General Staff, who died in 2011.

“Same for Admiral Mike Akhigbe, former Chief of General staff who died in 2013.

“The only difference now is the absence of the Nigerian Navy in the burial committee.

“The Nigerian Navy had played prominent roles in the burial activities of the former Chiefs of General Staff, who incidentally were both at different time, Chiefs of Naval Staff,” he explained.

The SGF, however, said that the Nigeria Police would effectively play some of the roles that the Nigerian Navy had played previously.

Mustapha said the late Ekwueme rendered valuable services and was a strong voice to ensuring unity and stability of Nigeria.

Other members of the committee included: Dr Roy Ugo, Secretary of the committee; Mr Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Power, Works and Housing; Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information and Culture; Mrs Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Finance; and Senator Chris Ngige, Minister of Labour and Employment.

Other are: Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra State; Mr Ibrahim Idris; Malam Lawal Daura, Director-General, Department of State Security Service; Pastor Goodheart Obi Ekwueme; and Prof.Osita Chukwulobelu. (NAN)


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...