Okpara, Akanu Ibiam not among Nigeria’s heroes —Aso Rock

Posted by News Express | 23 February 2014 | 7,244 times

Gmail icon

Despite their towering status as independence warriors and pioneer political leaders, both Dr. Michael Okpara and Dr. Akanu Ibiam are not recognised as such by Aso Rock, the Nigerian seat of power.

This much is evident from the list of 100 Nigerian heroes to be given awards this Friday, February 28, to climax the country’s centenary celebration. Okpara, one-time Premier of the defunct Eastern Region, and Ibiam, the first Governor of the Eastern Region, are conspicuously missing from the list that ironically parades some people who never attained their status politically.

Below is the list of those to be honoured as heroes of the struggle for Nigeria’s Independence/pioneer political leader during the ceremony scheduled to hold at the Banquet Hall, State House, Abuja, from 7.00pm:

1. Herbert Samuel Heelas Macaulay

2. Rt. Hon. Dr. Benjamin Nnamdi Azikiwe, GCFR

3. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, KBE

4. Chief Jeremiah Obafemi Awolowo, GCFR

5. Sir Ahmadu Bello, KBE

6. Professor Eyo Ita

7. Jaja Anucha Wachuku

8. Pa Michael Imoudu

9. Chief Anthony Enahoro

10. Chief Joseph Sarwan Tarka

11. Mallam Aminu Kano

12. Margaret Udo Ekpo

13. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti

14. Hajiya Gambo Sawaba

•Photo shows late Dr. Michael Okpara.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...