CDHR dispels rumours of disharmony

Posted by News Express | 2 November 2017 | 2,740 times

Gmail icon

•CDHR President, Comrade (Barr) Malachy Ugwummadu

The Committee for the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR) has declared that there is no truth in any statement or information portraying disharmony or division in the Rights group.

It further dismissed the activities of some of its members as maliciously intended to disparage the image of the group and cause distraction amongst its executives and members.

A statement by its National Publicity Secretary, Comrade (Barr) Henry Peter Ekine, on behalf of the National Executive Committee, (NEC), described information being passed around by such persons as distorted, misleading and provocative.

Ekine also described the individuals, including Soloki Gbenga, Kushimo Olumuyiwa, Bankole Solomon, Abdulazeez Adeyemi, Rowland Ayo, Godwin Anyebe, Olowu Emmanuel, Akinride Wahab, Alex Omotehinse, Olatunde Owoeye Wise, Akintunde Adedeji, Folowosele Olanrewaju, Ojo Adewale, Lasisi Abiodun, Salaudeen Abdul and others, as desperate impostors, impersonating CDHR, purporting to assemble in the name of CDHR, and illegally parading themselves as National Executives of CDHR. He further stated that some of the named individuals were persons who have long been suspended, others had since been expelled and some were not even members of CDHR.

He maintained that CDHR remains focused on its objectives and continues to be committed to the defence, sustenance and promotion of fundamental human rights guaranteed in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and the United Nations Declaration on Human Rights and other international conventions and covenants.

Ekine also stated that Akex Omotehinse, Kushimo Olumuyiwa, Olatunde Owoeye-Wise, Folowosele Olanrewaju, Ojo Adewale, Lasisi Abiodun, Salaudeen Abdul and Akintunde Adedeji had all been duly expelled from CDHR for various acts of indiscipline and gross-misconduct, which acts have caused gross disrepute, ridicule and sabotage of the CDHR and its aims and objectives. Ekine also stated that the former General Secretary, Deji Adebowale and Ropo Raji Rasheed have been under suspension for sundry acts of indiscipline. He advised the public to disregard any statement and information by these individuals and to refrain from dealing with those individuals in the name of CDHR.

He said that the National Executive Committee (NEC), on behalf of the entire members and Organs of CDHR, disclaims all false information projected by these individuals.

He emphasised that the CDHR formed in April, 1989 and duly incorporated, with the Corporate Affairs Commission, as the Incorporated Trustees of the Committee for the Defence of Human Rights, in September, 2016, in accordance with the Laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, with its Registered Office at the Rights House, #43 Adeniyi Jones Avenue, Ikeja, Lagos; “remains one big, strong, united and indivisible Organisation with one National Executive Committee (NEC) under the progressive leadership of Comrade (Barr) Malachy Ugwummadu; with one National Council, a single Board of Trustees, and State Branches across the country as well as several Units in virtually every part of the country.”

The Publicity Secretary further stated that CDHR just recently held its Annual General Conference (AGC) from Friday, 20th to Sunday 22nd October, 2017, at Hamdala Hotel, #26 Muhammadu Buhari Way, Kaduna, with the theme: ‘Situating Human Rights Issues within the Context of a Restructured and Functional Democracy in Nigeria’ and delegates from the state branches elected new executives into the National Executive Committee as follows:

1. Comrade (Barr) Malachy Ugwummadu, President; (Lagos)

2. Comrade Saka Idris, Vice President, (Kwara);

3. Comrade Yinka Folarin, General Secretary, (Ogun);

4. Comrade James Chukwendu, Assistant General Secretary, (Anambra);

5. Comrade Victor Oduleye, Treasurer, (Ondo);

6. Comrade (Barr) Bulama Dahiru, Legal Adviser, (Kaduna);

7. Comrade (Barr) Henry Peter Ekine, Publicity Secretary (Rivers); and

8. Comrade (Barr) Violet Ekumankama (Mrs.), Internal Auditor (Ebonyi)

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...