Looters trial: Petitioners submit 1,124 corruption cases to NJC

Posted by News Express | 2 November 2017 | 2,196 times

Gmail icon

•CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Walter Onnoghen said on Wednesday that the National Judicial Council (NJC) has so far received 1,124 corruption cases from various jurisdictions.

Onnoghen disclosed this in Abuja at the inauguration of the Corruption and Financial Crime Cases Trial Monitoring Committee.

The CJN said the cases were received in compliance with NJC directive.

“The Heads of Court were directed to compile and submit a compendium of corruption cases being handled by their various jurisdictions.

“I also directed them to designate a court or more in their jurisdictions, depending on the volume of such cases, solely for the trial of such cases,” he said.

The CJN advised members of the committee to help eliminate delays and its attendant effects on the speedy disposal of corruption cases.

“Needless to say that the nation expects so much from this committee, going by the avalanche of positive responses and recommendations that have greeted its setting up.

“We therefore must do all we can to justify this high level of public confidence reposed in the committee.

“The committee is expected to, among other things, propose practical directions for my consideration and approval in order to complement the Administration of Criminal Justice Act,” Onnoghen said.

The CJN restated his admonitions to both prosecution and defence counsel to shun all unethical antics being deployed to delay corruption cases.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that on October 31, the NJC appointed a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Suleiman Galadima, as the new Chairman of the committee.

Justice Galadima replaced retired Justice Ayo Salami, who excused himself from the committee as the Chairman, after initially accepting to serve.

Members of the committee inlcude: Chief Judges of Borno State, Justice Kashim Zannah; Imo State, Justice Pascal Nnadi; Delta State, Justice Marshal Umukoro; and Oyo State, Justice M. L. Abimbola.

Also in the committee are the President of the Nigeria Bar Association, Mr. Abubakar Mahmoud; and some of his predecessors – Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN), Mr. Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), Mr. Joseph Daudu (SAN). and Mr. Augustine Alegeh (SAN)-.

Others include two members of the NJC, Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) and Mrs. R. I. Inga; representative of the Non-Governmental Organisations, representative of the Ministry of Justice, and the representative, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria.

The Secretary of NJC, Gambo Saleh will serve as the secretary of the committee.

While speaking on behalf of others members, Galadima expressed delight at their appointment to serve, adding that the committee would not fail the nation. (NAN)


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...