Breaking News: Jonathan appoints 12 new ministers (names and states of origin)

Posted by News Express | 21 January 2014 | 7,042 times

Gmail icon

President Goodluck Jonathan has sent the names of 12 ministerial nominees (two from Kano State) to the Senate for confirmation. The names, along with those names of the new Service Chiefs sent to the Senate for ratification, were read out to Senators today by Senate President David Mark.

Nigerians had been expecting cabinet shake-up but News Express two days ago authoritatively reported that Jonathan was not about to do any such until at least about a month’s time.

What the President has chosen to do, instead, is to fill the vacant positions created when he sacked 11 ministers late last year and the resignation of Dr Mohammed Pate, as Minister of State for Health last year.

The nominees are as follows:

- Former National Security Adviser Gen. Aliyu Gusau (rtd), from Zamfara State

- Former governor of Adamawa State, Mr. Boni Haruna

- Incumbent Nigerian Ambassador to China, Aminu Wali, to represent Kano State

- Hajia Jamilla Salik, also from Kano State

- Former Nigerian Ambassador to Ghana, Musiliu Obanikoro, to represent Lagos State

- Hon. Mohammed Wakil, from Borno State

- Alhaji Abduljelili Oyewale Adesiyan, from Osun State

- Mrs. Akon Etim Eyakenyi, from Akwa Ibom State

- Mrs. Lawrencia Labaran Mallam, from Kaduna State

- Dr. T.W. Dagogo, from Rivers State

- Asabe Asmau Ahmed, from Niger State

- Dr. Khaliru Haruna, from Sokoto State.

The newly appointed Service Chiefs (who have already assumed office since yesterday, are as follows:

- Air Marshal Alex Badeh, Chief of Defence Staff

- Major General Kenneth Minimah, Chief of Army Staff

- Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin, Chief of Naval Staff

- Air Vice Marshal Adeola Amosu, Chief of Air Staff.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...