Omoko emerges President-General of UPU youth wing, promises to resuscitate Urhobo Language

Posted by News Express | 3 August 2017 | 1,551 times

Gmail icon

Comr. Nicholas Omoko has emerged as the President-General of the Urhobo Progressive Union (UPU) youth body.

The election was keenly contested from various kingdoms with delegates nominated from the 24 kingdoms of Urhobo land.

 Omoko, from Oghara, and Chief Jolly Ogbe from Udu kingdom, contested for the position of the President-General.

The electoral committee adopted the Option A4. Omoko, the Oghara-born youth leader, polled 32 votes against his rival’s eight votes to emerge as President.

Urhobo House, Okere road, Warri, venue of the election, was calm, with security beefed up in and around the venue to maintain law and order.

Earlier, UPU President-General, Olorogun Moses Taiga, represented by UPU Secretary, Olorogun Bar. Ese Gam Owe, told contestants to conduct themselves in a manner that would speak well of them and the Urhobo nation.

The electoral committee Chairman, Bar. Isaac Itebu, explained that delegates were nominated by kings of various kingdoms in Urhobo land.  He noted that 12 positions were returned unopposed, while others would be contested, including President, Vice President, Secretary, Publicity Secretary and Legal Adviser.

In his inaugural speech, Comr. Nicholas Omoko promised to work in synergy with the parent body with a view to reviving the Urhobo Language, which he said is currently going into extinction.

He assured Urhobo youths of transparency and all inclusiveness during his administration. Omoko stressed that his executives are out to correct the abnormalities done by the previous administration, while calling on all aggrieved persons to join hands with him to move Urhobo forward.

He also commended royal fathers, President-Generals of various kingdoms and, indeed, the electoral body, for the level playing field given to all aspirants.

Those elected includes Nicholas Omoko from Oghara (President); Jeffrey Ebireri, Ewu (Vice); Joseph Adjari, Okpe (Sec); Raymond Temisere, Olomu (PRO); Abraham Eka, Effurun-Otor (Org. Sec); and Peter Dievuamrere, Arhavwarien (Chief Whip).

Others are Gabriel Eyefia, Agbarho-otor (Auditor); Godwin Uwietesivwi, Ogor (Treasurer); Eguono Okpeh, Agbarha-Warri (Fin. Sec.); and Oghenemine Amodu, Agbon (Welfare), among others. 

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...