Dickson, Clark end IYC leadership crisis, inaugurate EXCO

Posted by News Express | 1 June 2017 | 2,202 times

Gmail icon

•Ijaw leader, Chief Edwin Clark.

The leadership crisis rocking the Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) has finally been laid to rest following the intervention of eminent Ijaw personalities led by Bayelsa State Governor, Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson and Ijaw Leader, Chief Edwin Clark. This climaxed in the inauguration of the new executives led by Owelaemi Roland Pereotubo on Wednesday.

Their inauguration came after due and intense deliberations by eminent persons, elders and leaders of the Ijaw nation, arising from the report submitted by the Joshua Fumudor-led Eminent Persons  Peace and Reconciliation Committee which was recently set up by Governor Dickson.

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Dickson charged the newly inaugurated IYC leadership to work for the collective interest of the Ijaw nation, while urging them to close ranks with the others.

He said based on the report submitted, the Peretubo-led IYC executives who were elected at the unity convention in Okrika are recognised as the authentic IYC new leadership because the Okrika election complied substantially to the electoral principles of the council.

‎The governor reiterated that the IYC and INC are not platforms to advance selfish political interests or to be used to look for contracts, stressing that there are major challenges confronting the Ijaw nation and the youths must rise up to that challenge.

In his acceptance speech, the new IYC President, Owelaemi Roland Pereotubo, applauded the efforts of Governor Dickson in resolving the protracted crisis and particularly commended him for providing uncommon leadership as well as leading the way and showing the light as a true Ijaw leader.

He said he ceases to be a politician henceforth, so that he can give himself wholly to the Ijaw cause and promised to stand by the Kaiama declaration just as he also vowed to work in harmony with all his EXCO members to project the Ijaw cause‎.

Earlier in his remarks, Pa Clark called for unity amongst the youths and urge them to unite in order to pursue and achieve a common cause.

The new IYC executives are; Barr. Oweilaemi Roland Pereotubo, President, Telema Pollyn, Deputy President, Alfred Kemepado, Secretary-General, Anthony Oki, Assistant Secretary-General and Daniel Dasimaka, Spokesman.

Others are Ramson Erebor, Financial Secretary; Egila Luckyman, Treasurer; Fred Afoegba, Mobilization Officer; Adam Ogomugo, Assistant Mobilization Officer; Bokiri Gift, Woman Leader; and Barr. Igbeta Ayebakuro, Legal Adviser.

Some of the notable Ijaw leaders present were Justice Francis Tabai, Ambassador Godknows Igali, Bodrick Bozimo, Chief Francis Doupkola, Chief T.K. Okorotie, and Dr. Felix Tuodolo.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...