Fidelity bank card banner Emerald Energy Institute Camano banner

APCON rewards compliance at 2013 Advertising Day

By Ralph Anyacho on 19/11/2013

Gmail icon

Views: 2,993

Raising advertising standards to global best practice was at the centre of discussions as the advertising profession ended activities marking the 2013 Advertising Day last Friday in Lagos.

A key feature of the day was the Advertising Standards Panel Best Practice awards to advertisers, advertising agencies and the media. The award, in 15 categories, had Nigerian Breweries Plc as winner of most compliant advertiser in alcoholic beverages category while Insight Communications came tops in this same category as agency. Financial Institutions most compliant advertiser was won by First Bank Plc, the same category won by Prima Garnet as agency; Medical and Pharmaceutical group was won by Society for Family Health just as Brand Believers won the same category as agency. In the non-alcoholic beverages category, Nigerian Bottling Company (Coca Cola) came on top as most compliant advertiser, while Prima Garnet won it as agency; Nestle Nigeria Plc clinched the Food and Beverages group as best compliant advertiser, while Bates Cosse led agencies in this category. Oil and gas was won by Oando, while Intenciti media braced the tape among the agencies nominated in this group. Political advertising was won by Insight Communications. Airtel emerged most compliant advertiser in the telecommunications group as Prima Garnet once again clinched this group in agency category.

Firms that emerged winners in other categories include: Dana Motors, most complaint advertiser in Automobile category, with Aeriel view leading agencies in this group; Emirates Airline came first in Aviation most compliant advertiser, this was won by Starcom Media as agency.  Bodycare and Hygience was won by Rekit Benckiser and Avant Garde won the category as agency; Household materials was won by Nigerite Ltd.  The British Council was the most compliant advertiser in education just as Aeriel view snatched the top spot as most compliant agency of the education category. Best Compliant Advertiser Award in computer and electronics was grabbed by Samsung, while Rosabel Advertising won this category as agency. Restaurant and QSRS was won by UAC and TBWA/Concept won it in agency group.  In media category Channels Television led the group as winner. 

Addressing advertising stakeholders at the event, the chairman of the Advertising Standards Panel, Mr. Ade Akinde, said that the purpose of the awards was to encourage advertisers their agencies and the media to comply with provisions of the Nigerian Code of Advertising Practice and extant advertising laws in Nigeria adding that the panel was encouraged to revive this award, started in 2008, following observed increase in compliance level which rose from 41 to 72 percent as at first quarter of 2013.

He stated that this Panel was going to institute a “Platinium Exclusive Club” Membership of the Club according to him would be open to advertisers, agencies and media outfits that will win the awards in three consecutive times. 

The Minister of Information, Mr. Labaran Maku, represented by Mr. Peter Dama, Director of Public Relations in the Ministry, commended APCON for its efforts at reducing incidences of unwholesome advertisements in the media, which he said tend to undermine or debase our national cultural values and offend people’s sensibilities.

APCON Chairman, Mr. Akinlolu Akinwunmi, had in his welcome remarks highlighted advertising practice reform as an ongoing programme that would key into the national transformation agenda of government and called for support of the programme.

Good will messages came from Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, Chairman, Senate Committee on Information, Media and Public Affairs; Senator Akin Odunsi of the same committee and Honourable Buba Jibril of the House of Representatives.

•Photo shows APCON Chairman, Lolu Akinwunmi.

Source News Express

Posted 19/11/2013 8:49:38 PM





You may also like...
Coalition faults Buhari, petitions against appointment of 2...

Dbanj and Wande Coal reunite at Tee A’s...

Four arrested for vandalizing EEDC sub-station in Anambra...

Dogara settles N3.76m hospital bills for patients

Secret recordings prove missing journalist killed inside Saudi...

CAN Presidency: We didn’t endorse Ayokunle’s re-election —...

Megachurch Pastor in $1 million fraud scandal, slammed...

Court restrains Sanusi from demolishing Emir of Kano’s...

Norway gives US$11.5m for female Boko Haram victims...

Onnoghen sworn-in as CJN, bags GCON

227 senior Army officers promoted to next ranks...

US Ambassador celebrates Umahi’s developmental strides


Latest News BREAKING: Tribunal upholds Makinde’s election as Oyo Governor Buhari critic resigns 10 days after accepting appointment in Ministry of Budget Boko Haram attacks University of Maiduguri Militants point new path to Niger Delta development Obasanjo writes South African leader over Xenophobia Gov. Umahi appoints 180 additional aides FG extends border closure indefinitely 10,000 Nigerian girls forced into prostitution in Burkina Faso – Ambassador FUOYE killings: Fayemi directs commissioner of police to commence investigation Xenophobia: FG releases states of returnees Resident doctors demand improved healthcare infrastructure in southeast Falling container kills 2, injures others in Lagos


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (540,363 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (442,869 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (389,177 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (326,594 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (294,569 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (253,604 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (249,681 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (238,273 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (231,425 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (217,415 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (195,797 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (193,409 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (102) Business & Economy (4,443) Business Verdict (80) Columnists (1,109) Complaints & Requests (96) Enterprise & Opportunities (215) Entertainment (664) Features (811) Global Business Monitor (442) ICT Monitor (63) International (3,953) Interview (203) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (170) Maggie's Blog (410) News (51,360) Opinion (1,358) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,446) Religion (1,102) Sports (2,166) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera