Fidelity bank card banner Camano banner

El-Rufai reshuffles cabinet, appoints new Perm Secs

By Garba Ahmed, Kaduna on 21/02/2017

Views: 3,065

Kaduna State Governor Nasir El-Rufai has effected a major cabinet reshuffle and appointed new permanent secretaries.

He also appointed Muhammad Bashir Sai’du as his Chief of Staff to fill in the vacuum created since Hadiza Bala Usman left for the Nigeria Ports Authority (NPA) as Managing Director. Saidu relinquished the office of Commissioner for Local Government.

A statement issued on Tuesday in Kaduna by Samuel Aruwan, Special Assistant to the Governor Media and Publicity, said the decision for the cabinet shakeup was taken during a meeting of the state executive council.

He said the comprehensive rejig of senior personnel includes the swapping of commissioners, the nomination of new commissioners, the appointment of new permanent secretaries and some retirements.

The commissioners swapping portfolios are as follows:
•Amina Dyeris-Sijuwade moves from the Ministry of Justice to the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources.

•Dr. Maigari Daniel Manzo moves from the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry to the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism.

•Shehu Balarabe moves from the Ministry of Environment to become Commissioner, Stakeholder Relations.

Rabi Abdulsalam, former Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development, becomes Special Adviser on Social Development.

•Dr. Shehu Usman Adamu, former Commissioner of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, returns to the academia.

Aruwan said that the governor has also nominated four commissioners for confirmation by the Kaduna House of Assembly. They are:

•Umma Hikima, Clerk of the House of Assembly, as Commissioner of Justice/Attorney-General.

•Professor Kabiru Mato, currently Special Adviser, Intergovernmental Relations, as Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry.

•Hafsat Baba as Commissioner of Women Affairs and Social Development.

•Jafaru Sani, Permanent Secretary Cabinet Affairs, as Commissioner for Local Government.

Three special advisers have been reassigned. Uba Sani is redesignated as Special Adviser, Political Matters and Intergovernmental Relations. Chris Umar, Deputy Chief of Staff, is to become Solicitor-General, while Murtala Dabo, Special Adviser, Economic Matters, is appointed Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works, Housing and Transport.

The State Government announced the appointment of eight new Permanent Secretaries, namely:

1. Mohammed Mahmoud Shuaibu: Ministry of Health and Human Services
2. Chris Umar: Ministry of Justice
3. Rabilu Shehu Ibrahim: Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources
4. Joseph Steven: Ministry of Local Government
5. Habiba Anana Shekarau: General Services, Office of the SSG
6. Lawrence Shemang: Ministry of Water Resources
7. Murtala Dabo: Ministry of Works, Housing and Transport
8. Abdullahi Sani: Cabinet Affairs and Special Services, Office of the SSG

Five Permanent Secretaries have been redeployed as follows:
•Hauwa Umar, Ministry of Women and Social Development
•Ibrahim Shehu Jere, Bureau of Establishments, Management and Training
•Ibrahim Sambo, Ministry of Rural and Community Development
•Nuhu Ishaku Buzun, Public Service Office, Office of the Head of Service
•Aishatu K. Mohammed, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism

The following permanent secretaries have been retired:
1. Esther C. Tsuwang
2. Lukman Musa Soba
3. Victoria Galadima
4. Mamman Garba Senior
5. Mary Musa Sawok

“The Governor has, on behalf of the government, expressed appreciation for their services to the state,” the statement said.

Source News Express

Posted 21/02/2017 8:45:51 PM





You may also like...
Bukola Saraki and the race for Senate Presidency,...

Guinness Nigeria deepens responsible drinking campaign, signs MOU...

Abia artisans appeal to govt. for infrastructure

Extensive electoral security problems marred rerun elections: European...

Man beaten to death for allegedly killing cow...

Trump stuns NATO with demand to double defence...


Osinbajo gives deadline to tax evaders

Behold! Unto us a varsity is born, By...

IGP assures of crime-free hand-over on May 29...

Breaking: D’Tigress make history, beat Greece to zoom...

Saraki Condemns UNIMAID bomb blast, seeks stricter security...


Latest News IPOB lays ambush for Southeast governors, Nwodo, Buratai •Offers N1m reward for information on their foreign trips 2019 Presidential poll: Why Atiku was not declared winner — INEC Cultists kill 3 persons in Rivers State Bank splashes scholarships on 30 top UTME candidates More troubles as FG prepares fresh charges against El-Zakzaky South-East Governors’ Forum decries alleged IPOB attack on Ekweremadu Stay away from duty posts, NASU, SSANU direct Varsity workers as strike begins El-Zakzaky didn’t seek asylum in India, says Islamic Movement in Nigeria Obi charges leaders to address healthcare challenges US to FG: Publish Nigeria’s budgets within reasonable period of time I will avenge next attack from your government, Okorocha warns Ihedioha Presidency queries FIRS boss over N12.6trn tax collection


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (527,931 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (438,172 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (382,953 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (321,822 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (289,877 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (250,950 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (245,577 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (232,234 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (227,624 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (213,867 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (192,822 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (190,761 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (98) Business & Economy (4,395) Business Verdict (78) Columnists (1,093) Complaints & Requests (95) Enterprise & Opportunities (214) Entertainment (647) Features (795) Global Business Monitor (417) ICT Monitor (58) International (3,841) Interview (198) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (166) Maggie's Blog (379) News (50,127) Opinion (1,323) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,312) Religion (1,085) Sports (2,133) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera