Fidelity bank card banner Camano banner
NLNG, CORA host 11 shortlist authors of 2016 Literature Prize

By News Express on 06/08/2016

Views: 1,549

Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) and the Committee for Relevant Arts (CORA) on Sunday in Lagos held a book party in honour of the 11 authors shortlisted for the 2016 The Nigeria Prize for Literature.

The book party featured the authors, who participated in person and via Skype, excerpt readings from their books and a question and answer session.

This will be the first public gathering of the writers on the shortlist recently released by the panel of judges led by Prof. Dan Izevbaye, well-respected literary critic and a professor of English Language. Other judges include Professor Asabe Usman Kabir and Professor Isidore Diala, first winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism.

Authors who attended the event include Elnathan John, author of Born On A Tuesday; Aramide Segun, author of Eniitan; Maryam Awaisu, author of Burning Bright; Yejide Kilanko, author of Daughters Who Walk This Path; Ifeoluwa Adeniyi, author of On the Bank of the River; Ifeoma Okoye, author of The Fourth World; Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, author of Season of Crimson Blossoms; and MansimChumah Okafor, author of The Parable of the Lost Shepherds.

Other authors on the shortlists include Chika Unigwe, winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2012 and writer of Night Dancer; Ogochukwu Promise, author of Sorrow’s Joy; and Sefi Atta, author of A Bit of Difference.

In his welcome remarks, the General Manager of External Relations at NLNG, Dr. Kudo Eresia-Eke, said: “The books on this shortlist depict that hard work and nothing short of the pursuit of excellence drove the writing of books. This makes the competition exciting and less predictable. One thing which will not change, however, is our quest for excellence. I state it here without doubt, that NLNG remains committed to this principle.

“At NLNG, excellence is one of our core values, together with Teamwork, Integrity and Caring, which we owe our success to. We believe that we have a lot of potentials which make us world class and able to compete with the best around the world. That is what we intend to do with writers in Nigeria through The Nigeria Prize for Literature.”

According to the Secretary-General of CORA, Toyin Akinosho, “We at CORA have always felt that books that make it to this level in such a major award system as the Nigeria Prize for Literature, ought to be known in every community in the country. Our ambition is to help that happen; to extend the star attraction of the award winner beyond the Gala Night of the award. We have always maintained that the award is an opportunity for a series of events to really make books look cool; series of book readings and discussions in as many crannies of the country as possible as well as on TV discussions and radio shows,” he said.

The 11 entries were selected out of a total entry of 173 for this year’s round of the prize which focuses on Prose Fiction. The final verdict on the winning entry is expected to be announced in October by NLNG, in commemoration of the company’s first LNG export in 1999.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly among four genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature and comes with a cash award of $100,000.

NLNG is owned by four shareholders, namely, the Federal Government of Nigeria, represented by the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC (49%),  Shell Gas BV, SGBV, (25.6%), Total LNG Nigeria Limited (15%), and Eni International (N.A,) N. V. S. a. r. l (10.4%).

Source News Express

Posted 06/08/2016 9:09:30 PM





You may also like...
JTF arrests fake revenue agent in Onitsha

US introduces new visa requirements

Adulterated kerosene burns down 12-bedroom apartment in Onitsha...

FG assures manufacturers, producers of export commodities of...

ICPC report: Okiro fights back, threatens legal action...

EFCC swoops on former Governors, political heavyweights

EFCC raids Access Bank, arrests and detains MD...

6 abducted Chibok school girls sighted in Sambisa...

We’re not in a hurry to release Nnamdi...

Army captures over 200 Boko Haram fighters in...

Salute to Peter Obi at 54: What Makes...

Pastor commits suicide In Kaduna


Latest News South East Governors reject Miyetti Allah vigilante group, cattle ranch My five-year agenda for CBN — Emefiele Court declines to halt renewal of Aiteo’s OML 29 lease War against corruption: Make protection of whistleblowers a priority, AFRICMIL tells FG Okowa felicitates with Gbajabiamila at 57 Presidential Election Dispute: Tribunal denies Atiku, PDP access to INEC Server Breaking: Court orders arrest of Innoson ISWAP terrorists under pressure — Task Force •Lose bombs, grenades, other weapons to MNJTF Court sends 5 Electricity Agency directors to prison over N5.2bn fraud Four corps members, two others rescued from kidnappers’ den Poor Governance: Intersociety slams Obiano, tells him to wake up before it’s too late •Charges South-East Governors 3 die as Akwa Ibom communities go to war over woman’s extra-marital affair


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (497,585 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (426,848 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (367,021 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (313,097 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (277,634 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (244,714 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (235,120 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (217,083 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (214,576 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (205,422 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (185,388 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (184,547 views)


NNPC 2019 National Science Quiz Competition

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (94) Business & Economy (4,323) Business Verdict (74) Columnists (1,055) Complaints & Requests (95) Enterprise & Opportunities (209) Entertainment (627) Features (767) Global Business Monitor (384) ICT Monitor (53) International (3,620) Interview (184) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (162) Maggie's Blog (310) News (47,729) Opinion (1,268) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,060) Religion (1,031) Sports (2,050) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update






APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera