Ogun assembly extends tenure of LG committee chairmen

Posted by News Express | 4 May 2016 | 3,188 times

Gmail icon

The Ogun House of Assembly on Tuesday extended the tenure of the 20 Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen in the state following the expiration of their tenure on Friday.

The extension was sequel to the request conveyed in Gov. Ibikunle Amosun’s April 29 letter to the assembly requesting for extension so as not to create a vacuum.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Speaker, Mr Suraj Adekunbi, had read the governor's letter during plenary in Abeokuta.

The motion for the extension was moved by the Majority Leader, Mr Adeyinka Mafe, while it was seconded by Mr Olusola Sonuga.

Also during plenary, the Speaker summoned the transition committee members of Ijebu Ode, Ado Odo, Odeda, Remo North and Ogun Waterside council areas to appear before the House over non performance.

Adekunbi said that the transition committee members should appear before the house committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy on Monday with reports of their performance in the last three months.

Meanwhile, the Speaker also condemned the abduction of a former Senator and Minister of State for Education, Iyabo Anisuluwo, describing it as an ‘unfortunate incident.’

Responding to the submission of the member representing Yewa South Constituency, Mrs Juliana Akintayo, who reported the abduction under personal explanation, called on residents to offer useful information that could assist the security agencies in rescuing the former senator.

Adekunbi also announced the receipt of the result of the referendum conducted by the Ogun Independent Electoral Commission. (NAN)

•Photo shows Governor Amosun.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...