Rerun Polls: Don’t give a single vote to PDP, APC pleads with Rivers East Senatorial Zone

Posted by News Express | 16 March 2016 | 3,289 times

Gmail icon

The electorate in Rivers East Senatorial Zone has been urged not to cast even a single vote for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the party has caused enough havoc in the state. The plea is coming from the State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), which believes that any vote cast for PDP on Saturday can only compound the woes of Rivers State inflicted on it by PDP and Governor Nyesom Wike.  

Rivers APC said in a statement issued Wednesday in Port Harcourt by the State Chairman, Dr. Davies Ibiamu Ikanya: “Today, Chief Nyesom Wike, the imposed Governor of Rivers State, has succeeded to make the state a laughing stock throughout Nigeria and beyond. All the great legacies of the administration of Rt. Hon. Chibuike Amaechi are being destroyed and desecrated. Most annoying is the unjustifiable closure of the over 24 model secondary schools which some people have described as being better than some universities in Nigeria. The war against education in Rivers State includes the closure of 500 model primary schools that were operational before Wike became Governor on May 29 last year.

“As if this was not enough, Wike and PDP went ahead to cancel the scholarship scheme set up by the administration of Amaechi, thereby denying the less privileged in Rivers State the opportunity to acquire higher education. They have since withdrawn 1,000 students on scholarship overseas, most of them in their final year of studies

“It is regrettable that most of those affected by Wike and PDP’s anti-education policies are children of the Eastern Senatorial Zone. This is the right time to punish Wike and his visionless stooges in PDP that he wants to impose on us as lawmakers. There could be no better opportunity to do this than the 19th March, 2016 rerun elections. We appeal to the good people of Rivers East to reclaim their future on Saturday by overwhelmingly voting Hon. Andrew Uchendu as their Senator, together with APC’s candidates for the Federal House of Representatives and the State House of Assembly polls.”

The statement listed APC’s House of Reps candidates for the zone as:

1. Elder Wihioka Chidi Frank of  Emohua/Ikwerre Federal Constituency

2. Hon. Ogbonna Nwuke of Etche/Omuma Federal Constituency

3. Hon. Maureen Tamuno of Okirika/Ogu-Bolo Federal Constituency

4. Chief Tony Okocha of Obio/Akpor Federal Constituency

5. Hon. Igo Aguma of Phalga I Federal Constituency

6. Collyns A. N. Owhonda of Phalga II Federal Constituency

As for the State House of Assembly elections, it gave the names of the party’s candidates as:

1. Hon. Chief. Barr Lloyd Chidi Julius of Emohua

2. Hon Golden Ngozi Chioma of Etche II

3. Hon. Azubuike Wanjoku of Ikwerre

4. Hon. Collins Ordu of Obio/Akpor I

5. Belief Wali A of Obio/Akpor II

6. Leo Anyanwu of Omuma

7.  Irene M. Inimgba of Port Harcourt II

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...