Operation World Cup Ticket: Mba, Mikel lead assault against Kenya

Posted by News Express | 5 June 2013 | 3,946 times

Gmail icon

Super Eagles Head Coach, Stephen Keshi, has unveiled his starting 11 in this afternoon’s crucial World Cup qualifier against hosts Harambee Stars of Kenya. (Kick-off: 2pm Nigerian time).

They include Mikel Obi marshalling the midfield and hard-fighting Sunday Mba joining forces with Nnamdi Oduamadi, Brown Ideye and Ahmed Musa in the attack. Below is the starting 11:

Vincent Enyeama

Efe Ambrose

Elderson Echiejile

Godfrey Oboabona

Kenneth Omeruo

Ogenyi Onazi

John Mikel Obi

Sunday Mba

Nnamdi Oduamadi

Ahmed Musa

Brown Ideye

African champions Nigeria lead Group F on five points from three matches. Malawi, who are hosting Namibia as Eagles battle Harambee Stars, are also on five points, but boast an inferior goals’ difference, while Namibia are third on three points.

The implication is that anything short of victory in at the Moi International Sports Centre in Nairobi will harm the chances of the Super Eagles making it to the Brazil 2014 World Cup. The Super Eagles are yet to lose a game in their last 16 encounters.

The Nigerian lads have promised to shed blood if necessary for them to pick the three maximum points at stake.

Photo: Hard-battling Sunday Mba is one of the stars in the thick of the Nairobi battle.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...