HAPPENING NOW: INEC confirms Dickson re-elected as Bayelsa Governor

Posted by Arodiegwu Eziukwu, Yenagoa | 10 January 2016 | 4,099 times

Gmail icon

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Hon. Seriake Henry Dickson re-elected as Governor of Bayelsa State. News Express earlier broke the news following the collation of the supplementary governorship election held yesterday in the Southern Ijaw LGA and 101 other units across the state.

Bringing the curtain down on the process minutes ago in the state capital, Yenagoa, the Returning Officer, Prof. Zana Akpaogu, Vice Chancellor of the University of Calabar, declared Dickson re-elected for a second term with 134,998 votes as against 86,852 votes won by his immediate past predecessor, Chief Timipre Sylva of the federal-ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Dickson went into the supplementary election with a clear advantage after leading in the initial election held on December 5, 2015 but declared inconclusive by INEC. As earlier reported by News Express, he won yesterday’s ballot with 23,081 votes as against 10,216 by Sylva.

Dickson thus becomes the first person to win re-election as Bayelsa Governor.

•Photo shows Bayelsa Governor-elect, Hon. Seriake Dickson, flashing the victory sign.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...