INEC promises credible polls in Bayelsa, to conduct 78 re-run elections in 2016

Posted by News Express | 8 January 2016 | 3,370 times

Gmail icon

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Bayelsa State has announced plans to decentralise the distribution of electoral materials in the state.

This is to prevent the reoccurrence of electoral malpractices recorded during the rescheduled elections.

The electoral commission also announced that the Local Government collation of results will no longer take place at Oporomor, the headquarters of Southern Ijaw LGA, but in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital.

Some of the adhoc staff, however, confirmed to reporters that they are yet to receive their payment for the services rendered in previous elections.

One of them who spoke said that even though he is yet to be paid and has been confirmed to feature in the January 9 election, he is bothered about a repeat of the violence he experienced during the last election.

However, INEC gave the assurance that it will pay the members of staff that are yet to be paid, urging them to exercise patience.

INEC Public Relations Officer in the state, Mr Timidi Wariowei, who expressed confidence in the commission’s ability to deliver a credible election, said it has begun the dispatch of materials to some of the areas where elections are expected to take place.

INEC is to conduct 78 re-run elections in 2016, the commission said on Thursday in Abuja, in its daily bulletin.

The re-run elections will hold across the country, based on verdicts issued by the Court of Appeal.

“Most of the court verdicts were given in December 2015, while a few others were ordered in November 2015, and are expected to hold within 90 days or 60 days as ordered by the Appellate Court.

“A breakdown of the elections indicates that the Commission will conduct 10 Senatorial elections, 12 State Constituency elections and 37 State Assembly elections.

“Others are 17 Federal Constituency elections and 2 Governorship re-run elections, subject to the verdict of the Supreme Court.”

The details of the elections show that 38 elections, including that of governorship would be conducted in Rivers state.

It also shown that eight elections, all on state constituency, would be conducted in Abia state.

The details also revealed that one rerun elections would be held in Adamawa state, while seven, including governorship election, would be conducted in Akwa-Ibom state.

One election each would also be conducted in Anambra, Bayelsa, Benue, Kaduna, Nasarawa and Benue states, as well as two in Gombe state.

The details also shown that four elections would be conducted in Imo state, six in Kogi, and three each in Plateau and Taraba. (NAN/Channels)

•Photo shows INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...