Delta, Plateau governors floor challengers at election tribunal, retain seats

Posted by News Express | 26 October 2015 | 2,676 times

Gmail icon

Governors of Delta and Plateau states this afternoon triumphed at their repective states’ election tribunals to retain their coveted seats.

In Asaba, the Delta State capital, the governorship election tribunal threw out the petition by the Labour Party and its governorship candidate, Chief Great Ogboru, upholding the election, on April 11, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

The three-man tribunal’s chairman, Justice Nasiru Gunmi, said that the petition lacked merit. He directed the plaintiff to pay fines of 50,000 naira to each of the respondents.

The first respondent in the case is the Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa, while the second and third respondents are the PDP and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In Plateau State, the governorship election petitions tribunal affirmed the victory of Governor Simon Lalong in the April 11 governorship poll.

Gyang Pwajok of PDP and his party had dragged Lalong of the All Progressives Congress (APC) before the tribunal. They claimed that there were cases of irregularities during the polls, asking the panel to nullify the election and declare Pwajok as winner.

The tribunal, which sat in the state capital, Jos, dismissed the petition for lack of merit.

•Photo shows Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau State.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...