Abia unveils list of 20 commissioner nominees

Posted by Boniface Okoro, Umuahia | 16 October 2015 | 9,515 times

Gmail icon

Two former members of the House of Representatives, Hon Eziuche Ubani and Rt. Hon. Uzo Azubuike, made the list of commissioner nominees in Abia State unveiled this afternoon in Umuahia by the House of Assembly. The nominees are 20.

A former President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Mr Bonnie Iwuoha, a former Deputy Chief of Staff, Chief Charles Ogbonnaya, and an industrialist, Chief Henry Ikoh, equally made the list.

Former commissioners who were also nominated are Mrs Chinedu Brown, Barr. Uche Ihediwa, Chief Chinwe Nwanganga and Chief Ebo Ihekwereme.

Other nominees are Barr. Haglar Okorie, Barr Gab Igboko (Legal Adviser to the state chapter of PDP), Barr Nnenna Obewu and Mr Obinna Oriaku.

The rest are Chief Stanley Eche, Chief Tony Ezebuiro, Barr Chima Mgbeke, Prof. Ikechi Mgbeoji, Dr John Ahukanna, Kate Enwereji Nwosu and Hon. Osita Igbe, a former Majority Leader of the Abia state House of Assembly.

Speaker of the House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Martins Azubuike, read out the names from the letter from Governor Okezie Ikpeazu during plenary.

Azubuike, after reading out the names, appointed a five-man ad-hoc committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon Cosmos Ndukwe, to conduct an in-house screening of the nominees.

Other members are the Majority Leader, Hon. Chinedum Orji, the Minority Leader, Hon. Ikedi Ezekwesiri, the Majority Whip, Hon Tony Mezie Nwaubani and Hon Uloama Onuoha, the member representing Isuikwuato State Constituency, while Emeka Otunchere would serve as Secretary to the committee. The screening of the commissioner nominees begins on Monday, October 19, 2015.

News Express had reported last Thursday that the list of the Commissioner nominees submitted to the Speaker by the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Hon Chijioke Nwakodo and Rt. Hon. Chinedum Elechi, the Governo's Special Adviser on Legislative Matters, Wednesday evening may be unveiled today.

Photo shows Abia Speaker, Rt Hon. Martins Azubuike.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...