Minister heads Boko Haram Amnesty Committee

Posted by News Express | 17 April 2013 | 5,287 times

Gmail icon

Nigeria’s President Goodluck Jonathan has constituted a 26-member committee headed by a serving senior minister to implement the amnesty programme for the Boko Haram insurgents.

News Express had on April 4 broken he news of the government’s decision to offer amnesty to the violent Islamic sect which has made parts of the country’s north virtually ungovernable.

The Boko Haram amnesty committee will be chaired by the Minister of Special Duties, Alhaji Tanimu Turaki, with a representative of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation serving as Secretary.

Speaking with State House correspondents at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr Reuben Abati, named other members of the committee to include Sheik Ahmed Lemu, Dr. Hakeem Baba Ahmed, Col. Musa Shehu (rtd.), Sheik Abubakar Tureta, Dr. Datti Ahmed and Sen. Abubakar Sodangi.

Also in the committee are Sen. Ahmed Makarfi, Rep. Mohammed Matawalle, Mr. Zakari Ibrahim, Mr. Shehu Sani, Hajiya Naja’atu Mohammed, Malam Adamu Ladan, Dr. Joseph Golwa, AVM. A. I. Shehu and Mr. R. I. Nkemdirim.

The rest are DIG P. I. Leha, Prof. Nura Alkali, Malam Salihu Abubakar, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Lugga, Mr. Ibrahim Tahir, Brig.-Gen. Ibrahim Sab, Amb. Baba Ahmed Jidda, Grp.-Capt. Bilal Bulama (rtd.) and Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi.

Abati said the decision to set up the committee was sequel to the favourable consideration of the report of the technical committee set up by the National Security Council on insecurity in the northern parts of the country.

The committee’s terms of reference, according to him, include developing a framework for the granting of amnesty and setting up of a framework through which disarmament could take place within a 60-day time frame.

Abati said the committee would also develop a comprehensive victims’ support programme, and mechanisms to address the underlying causes of insurgencies that will help to prevent future occurrences.

In a related development, President Jonathan has also set up a committee on the proliferation of small arms and light weapons. The 17-member committee is chaired by Mr Emmanuel Imohe, while the Director, Department of International Organisation in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs will serve as Secretary.

Other members are the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Martin Uhomoibhi; Amb. T. D. Hart; Alhaji Ghali Umar; Mr. M.G. Wakil; Mr. Opelusi Olureti; a representative each from the Ministry of Interior, Office of the National Security Adviser, Office of the Director General, State Security Services and the National Intelligence Agency. The rest are a representative each of the Federal Ministries of Justice and Defence; Defence Intelligence Agency, the Nigeria Customs Services and Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

Abati disclosed that both committees would be inaugurated on April 24, at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

•Photo shows Boko Haram leader Ibrahim Shekau with his lieutenants.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...